Quote:
Originally posted by tjchamp
What would prevent the official from saying, in his judgement, a shot occured? Player went up for a shot, ball did leave hands, actually hit the backboard, he just came down with it.
|
Nothing in that case. It always has been and always will be a judgement call if the ball leaves the hands. In that case, I wouldn't call a travel if the ball hit the backboard. I'd give the player the benefit of the doubt and call it a try.
We're discussing a "fumble", not a "try" though.