Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
|
I understand that 9.5.1 is not exactly the play under consideration. But it establishes, does it not, that a player may leave the floor with control, have control terminate then be reestablished, then legally return to the floor? [/B]
|
No, it sureasheck doesn't. The legality of the play depends on the
type of control that is terminated in the air. 9.5.1 says that if
team control ends, it's legal to return to the floor. If team control doesn't end, it's a travel- or a held ball if a defender stopped the player from releasing the ball.
Simple as that. [/B][/QUOTE]
As 'the man' says in the Sprint commericial, "Maybe".
Player control, but not team control, terminates during a fumble that originates on the ground and a player may then recover the ball without traveling. I don't think the situation at hand is addressed crisply within the rules.