The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 15, 2006, 09:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
[/B]
OK.

NFHS. Rule: 7-1-1:
...A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player, on or outside a boundary.....

Case Book: 7.1.1 Says (among other things):
........People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not considered a violation.

[/B][/QUOTE]
Now we take this a step further and ask:
Did A2 gain an advantage from this touch (ie maintaining his balance)?

Here we need to divide this into two cases:
1. The person OOB who is contacted is a player.
Per 7-1-1 there is no OOB violation even if an advantage was gained because the touch occurred with a player.

[/B][/QUOTE]Disagree with you on that one. The case play says that people are not objects, and players sureasheck are people. The case play language says touching "someone" OOB to gain an advantage is a violation, and that same case play uses language referring to " someone" as also including a player- i.e. as in 7.1.1SitA(a). Therefore, it's also a violation if you gain an advantage by touching a player who is OOB.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 15th, 2006 at 09:26 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1