How would you have ruled prior to that casebook play coming in unannounced a couple of seasons ago?
The language of the rule book was very clear to except a player from the OOB restriction.
There simply is no rule which says that a player who is inbounds is considered out of bounds when he touches another player who is OOB, whether or not he gains an advantage.
All that we have is this politically correct casebook play.
Here is a test play.
A)
A1 and B1 dive for a loose ball near the sideline. B1 ends up on the floor with half of his body inbounds and half OOB. A1 ends up lying on top of the inbounds half of B1 and has the ball. A1 is not touching the floor OOB. B1 is not touching the ball.
B)Same as above except, A1 is lying on top of the OOB half of B1.
|