Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
1) How would you have ruled prior to that casebook play coming in unannounced a couple of seasons ago?
Here is a test play.
A)
A1 and B1 dive for a loose ball near the sideline. B1 ends up on the floor with half of his body inbounds and half OOB. A1 ends up lying on top of the inbounds half of B1 and has the ball. A1 is not touching the floor OOB. B1 is not touching the ball.
B)Same as above except, A1 is lying on top of the OOB half of B1.
|
1) Legal play if you touched a player. Violation if you touched a coach, cheerleader, photographer,etc.
Legal play in both (A) and (B). In both case,A1 is touching a player who is OOB, but A1 is not OOB himself by rule. The only part of A1's body touching the floor is touching the court in-bounds. You might say that A1 is gaining an advantage in situation (B) and therefore that one should be a violation, but I don't know whether you can definitely say that he did it to gain a deliberate advantage. Any doubt imo, fuggedaboutit.