Thread: Help!!
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 15, 2006, 08:34pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Time2Ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Hmmmmmm.......

Almost the same play......

What's the call if A2, after receiving that throw-in in bounds, pivoted and subsequently touched A1 with his hand, arm, body, etc. instead of the ball while A1 was still out of bounds?

OK.

NFHS. Rule: 7-1-1:
...A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player, on or outside a boundary.....

Case Book: 7.1.1 Says (among other things):
........People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not considered a violation.



[Edited by Time2Ref on Feb 15th, 2006 at 07:43 AM]
Now we take this a step further and ask:
Did A2 gain an advantage from this touch (ie maintaining his balance)?

Here we need to divide this into two cases:
1. The person OOB who is contacted is a player.
Per 7-1-1 there is no OOB violation even if an advantage was gained because the touch occurred with a player.

2. The person OOB who is contacted is NOT a player.
By 7.1.1 if there was an advantage gained then the correct call is an OOB violation.

At least that is the way I read it.
Reply With Quote