The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by JCrow
Coach - "You're a riot! You actually spend time thinking about this stuff? Before a game, you must be like Robert DiNiro in front of a mirror practicing saying,

"You talking to me, Ref?

"YOU.......talkingtomeRef?

"you TALKING to ME, ref?

Hey, to each his own but as a Coach, I think you'd be better off working on basketball's finer points with the kids.
Yeah, sounds like you've pegged me, JCrow. I would coach my kids about basketball but I can't really think about more than 1 thing at a time and next week I'll be thinking about car wax. Anyone know of a good car wax forum?

If only there were some coaching resources I could have access to, maybe I could spend a week thinking about that.
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member

Coach,

I'm a two year official in basketball and football but am not new to the "game" you're describing. As a father of three grown children and now a grandpa to one, I've had ample opportunity to coach as well as be a stand-in umpire in the old days of little league.

Both of my daughters were State Champions as sisters on the same HS team in volleyball and went on to have their college tuition paid for by their athletic and scholastic abilities. I also helped coach their traveling VB squads for AAU and national tournament play.

Bottom line? I know how to work refs. I've done it. I've earned it. I've gotten the 50/50 calls to maybe fall my way and I've been totally ignored other times.

When something was really missed, and I mean really missed, I would be short, quick and explosive and then let it go. Believe me, a ref knows when he blew a call and it happens. It's happened to me but we go on.

It doesn't need to be dwelled upon for three periods as everyone knows what has happened.