![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
After having some time to reflect upon this, I'm actually even more disappointed with the wording of the rules book. I believe that there is a significant gap in the rules here. These FTs really should be considered part of the preceding quarter and no penalty or part of one should be permitted to carry over to the next period. However, please look at the rigid structure of the applicable rule: --------------------------------- RULE 5, SECTION 6 BEGINNING, END OF QUARTER OR EXTRA PERIOD Each quarter or extra period begins when the ball first becomes live. It ends when the signal sounds indicating time has expired, except that: ART. 1 . . . If the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal, the quarter or extra period ends when the try or tap ends. ART. 2 . . . If a held ball or violation occurs so near the expiration of time that the clock is not stopped before time expires, the quarter or extra period ends with the held ball or violation. ART. 3 . . . If a foul occurs: a. So near the expiration of time that the timer cannot get the clock stopped before time expires. b. After time expires, but while the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal. The quarter or extra period ends when the free throw(s) and all related activity have been completed. No penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one quarter or extra period to the next. EXCEPTION: No free throw(s) shall be attempted after time has expired for the fourth quarter or any extra period, unless the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game. ART. 4 . . . If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter or extra period, the next quarter or extra period is started by administering the free throws. This applies when the foul occurs after any quarter has ended, including the fourth quarter, provided there is to be an extra period. If there is no way to determine whether there will be an extra period until the free throws are administered, the free throws are attempted immediately, as if the foul had been part of the preceding quarter. ----------------------------- In the case of a correctable error that is corrected during the dead ball immediately following the end of a period, we don't have a situation that fits under article 3 or article 4. We simply don't have a foul that occurs right near the end and the timer isn't able to stop the clock, nor do we have a foul during a try in flight at the horn. We also don't have a technical foul. This is simply not covered in the current rules as written. My new ruling is that all related activity has to include a correctable error and those FT are have to be considered part of that quarter which just ended. I'd actually have to invoke 2-3 here. The NFHS needs to issue a case play on this or better yet add another article to 5-6. |
Bookmarks |
|
|