The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 07:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by cshields
Hello, I am new here... but in the NFHS Case book 10.3.6:

Delay by Free Thrower - The calling offical has reported the foul and has given directions to the players along the lane. The official is ready to put the ball into play at free thrower A1's disposal, but A1 is at the sideline talking to the coach. RULING: A technical foul for delay is charged to A1. No warning is authorized in this situation. (10-3-6c)
This is a completely different situation than the one that we've been discussing. In this case play, the FT shooter has never entered the FT semicircle. That's why it's a delay-of-game "T" under 10-3-6(c).

In the play we've been discussing, the FT shooter is already in the FT semicircle, but then left after receiving the ball or having it at their disposal. That's still a delay-of-game "T", but this "T" is called under a different rule- 10-3-6(a)- as already cited above.

Iow, apples and oranges.

Welcome to the forum.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1