View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 09:04am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
This is a completely different situation than the one that we've been discussing.

In the play we've been discussing, the FT shooter is already in the FT semicircle, but then left after receiving the ball or having it at their disposal.
I'm gonna stick up for the new guy (or gal). In the original sitch, the player never had the ball at her disposal for the second FT. The ball was bounced, but not caught. She left the FT circle before she caught the ball. I think the case play cited fits perfectly. Although I didn't give the citation, it's exactly the ruling I gave above.
Agreed. 4-4-7b " A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is ... caught by a player after it is bounced to him or her."

Reply With Quote