The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
This is a completely different situation than the one that we've been discussing.

In the play we've been discussing, the FT shooter is already in the FT semicircle, but then left after receiving the ball or having it at their disposal.
I'm gonna stick up for the new guy (or gal). In the original sitch, the player never had the ball at her disposal for the second FT. The ball was bounced, but not caught. She left the FT circle before she caught the ball. I think the case play cited fits perfectly. Although I didn't give the citation, it's exactly the ruling I gave above.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
This is a completely different situation than the one that we've been discussing.

In the play we've been discussing, the FT shooter is already in the FT semicircle, but then left after receiving the ball or having it at their disposal.
I'm gonna stick up for the new guy (or gal). In the original sitch, the player never had the ball at her disposal for the second FT. The ball was bounced, but not caught. She left the FT circle before she caught the ball. I think the case play cited fits perfectly. Although I didn't give the citation, it's exactly the ruling I gave above.
Agreed. 4-4-7b " A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is ... caught by a player after it is bounced to him or her."

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 09:23am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
This is a completely different situation than the one that we've been discussing.

In the play we've been discussing, the FT shooter is already in the FT semicircle, but then left after receiving the ball or having it at their disposal.
I'm gonna stick up for the new guy (or gal). In the original sitch, the player never had the ball at her disposal for the second FT. The ball was bounced, but not caught. She left the FT circle before she caught the ball. I think the case play cited fits perfectly. Although I didn't give the citation, it's exactly the ruling I gave above.
Sigh. L'il comprehension problem today?

I'm referring to your answers of 8:27 & 9:55am yesterday. You know, where you said it would be a "T" if the FT shooter was already in the semicircle and then left before the ball was in their possession or at their disposal. Isn't that play completely different than a play where a FT shooter was never in the semicircle in the first place- which happened in the case play that the new guy cited?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
you said it would be a "T" if the FT shooter was already in the semicircle and then left before the ball was in their possession or at their disposal. Isn't that play completely different than a play where a FT shooter was never in the semicircle in the first place- which happened in the case play that the new guy cited?
Why would it be different? The official is ready to administer the FT, and the FT shooter is not in the circle. What difference does it make if she was in there and left or if she was never in there?

[Edited by ChuckElias on Jan 12th, 2006 at 09:42 AM]
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 09:28am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Chuck, you win. Fuggedaboutit.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Chuck, you win. Fuggedaboutit.
Hmmm, that sounds half-hearted. Do I win b/c you think I'm right, or b/c I'm so off-base you can't be bothered?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2006, 10:18am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Chuck, you win. Fuggedaboutit.
Hmmm, that sounds half-hearted. Do I win b/c you think I'm right, or b/c I'm so off-base you can't be bothered?
Yes.

No.

The point I was trying to make wasn't worth making.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1