The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #91 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 10, 2005, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Smitty
Camron, I was with you all the way, but I wanted to be sure, so I emailed Howard with the situation and asked how he wanted it to be called. Here's his answer:

Violation on B1 for kicking the ball
A get the ball for a throw-in because of the violation
Arrow changes and points toward B's basket because the throw-in ended when the ball was touched by B1 Rule 4-42-5 covers this situation.


So I will be calling it this way if that scenario ever should occur. I strongly feel that it's not the intent of the rule, but I will call it the way Howard laid it out.
O golly gee.....

What a surprise.......

Gonna e-mail Mr. Mayo and tell him he's wrong, Camron?
Actually, Jurr, Camron could get away with it. He's very well respected in our association, and he and Howard have a good working relationship. Camron won't change Howard's mind, though...
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 10, 2005, 02:28pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Smitty
Camron, I was with you all the way, but I wanted to be sure, so I emailed Howard with the situation and asked how he wanted it to be called. Here's his answer:

Violation on B1 for kicking the ball
A get the ball for a throw-in because of the violation
Arrow changes and points toward B's basket because the throw-in ended when the ball was touched by B1 Rule 4-42-5 covers this situation.


So I will be calling it this way if that scenario ever should occur. I strongly feel that it's not the intent of the rule, but I will call it the way Howard laid it out.
O golly gee.....

What a surprise.......

Gonna e-mail Mr. Mayo and tell him he's wrong, Camron?
Actually, Jurr, Camron could get away with it. He's very well respected in our association, and he and Howard have a good working relationship. Camron won't change Howard's mind, though...
Well, Juulie, as I understand it, Howard Mayo is the PBOA Commissioner and the rules interpreter for the Oregon IAABO Board- 183. Iow, he's pretty much the guy who responsible for giving you the definitive rules interpretations out there, right?

So...the question really is....Will Howard's answer change Camron's mind?
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 10, 2005, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
This amazes me still.

What purpose does the AP arrow serve?

It gives the team with the arrow the ball that has the arrow in a situation of a held ball, stuck ball, dual OOB violation, double foul/technical without team control, or accidental whistle without team control...I think I got them all. The entire point is to award possession.

In our situation we just had one of those and team A HAD the arrow.

The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow. The purpose of the arrow was served, because it established possession and that possession WAS NOT LOST by the kick.

Team B will still need another AP situation to use the arrow. By not switching you are actually taking a potential possession away from team B. A pretty strict penalty for a play that is really no different than knocking the ball OOB with any other part of the body.
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 10, 2005, 07:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Very well. While I disagree that the rule is "clear", I'll concede the ruling and reverse the arrow should it ever occur. I never denied that it was not a possibility, just that it was illogicial and there was support for my position. Thank you for the debate...it really caused me to think about the situation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow

"The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow"

No, this is what a kick does:

9-4: Kick . . . Penalty: The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out of bounds spot nearest the violation.

If the ball is dead, the throw-in cannot have ended.

If, on the other hand, you consider the throw-in to have ended first, then we get your result.

If you want to apply both rules simultaneously, you can't, they are not mutually compatible.

Welcome to teleology. Pick the result you want, then insist that the rules be applied in theorder which produces that result.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow"

No, this is what a kick does:

9-4: Kick . . . Penalty: The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out of bounds spot nearest the violation.

If the ball is dead, the throw-in cannot have ended.

If, on the other hand, you consider the throw-in to have ended first, then we get your result.

If you want to apply both rules simultaneously, you can't, they are not mutually compatible.

Welcome to teleology. Pick the result you want, then insist that the rules be applied in theorder which produces that result.
This troll is getting pretty old by now, maybe it's time to apply your skills to a new thread.

We've already determined that a kick requires, by definition, a touch.

The throw-in ends on a touch. Not just a legal touch. Any touch.

Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 09:48am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow"

No, this is what a kick does:

9-4: Kick . . . Penalty: The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out of bounds spot nearest the violation.

If the ball is dead, the throw-in cannot have ended.

If, on the other hand, you consider the throw-in to have ended first, then we get your result.

If you want to apply both rules simultaneously, you can't, they are not mutually compatible.

Welcome to teleology. Pick the result you want, then insist that the rules be applied in theorder which produces that result.
Welcome to the Wonderful World of Tweety the Penguin.
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref

hey JR, do you agree with me that if crosby had not been in CF last night shef makes the catch? not saying it's his fault, the kid's doing good...just in the wrong place at the wrong time.
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 10:14am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref

hey JR, do you agree with me that if crosby had not been in CF last night shef makes the catch? not saying it's his fault, the kid's doing good...just in the wrong place at the wrong time.
No, I think Bernie still has enough legs left that he woulda got to that one. Now whether Bernie also mighta backed off and let Sheff go get it is debatable. The usual rule of thumb is the center fielder calls the play. Moot point anyway. If you can't hit with men on base, you lose.

Why do I get a sinking feeling every time I see Mussina trotting out there in a big game? Personally, I'd have preferred Small. Mussina just isn't a big-game pitcher.

Gotta be changes. That is one flawed ball club, no matter how many all-stars are on it. Just terrible defensively. Need a cf and a 1B, and they haveta make Clank the SteroidMonkey a permanent dh.

This just in: Giambi's new supplier was just named Comeback Druggist of the Year.
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
You have determined, by looking into your heart?

"We've already determined that a kick requires, by definition, a touch."

Where does it say that in the rules? It doesn't. It's just so . . . intuitive. Sure, a kick requires a touch, but if you apply the penalty for a kick first, the touch is irrelevant.



__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
  #101 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Maybe it's time for you

"This troll is getting pretty old by now, maybe it's time to apply your skills to a new thread."

Maybe it's time for you to watch your mouth.

__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: You have determined, by looking into your heart?

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"We've already determined that a kick requires, by definition, a touch."

Where does it say that in the rules? It doesn't. It's just so . . . intuitive. Sure, a kick requires a touch, but if you apply the penalty for a kick first, the touch is irrelevant.



You said it yourself: Either one views the kick as being first, or one views the touch as being first. The powers that be have already stated how the play is to be viewed. Regardless of the teleology, regardless of my view, your view or anyone else's view, the committee has made it clear how the play must be called. You can't argue your way out of a direct command. Even Camron agrees that we must do it "their" way, and getting philosophical isn't going to change that. If you want to change it, go to the Rules Committee. Arguing it here does no good at all.
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Rainmaker, I'll be more than happy to agree with you.

"You said it yourself: Either one views the kick as being first, or one views the touch as being first. The powers that be have already stated how the play is to be viewed. Regardless of the teleology, regardless of my view, your view or anyone else's view, the committee has made it clear how the play must be called. You can't argue your way out of a direct command. Even Camron agrees that we must do it "their" way, and getting philosophical isn't going to change that. If you want to change it, go to the Rules Committee. Arguing it here does no good at all."

Where specifically in the rules does it say that this 'situation' is to be interpreted (that is, resolved) as you suggest? Just tell me where and I will memorize the citation! I am not being purposefully obtuse about this . . .
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: Rainmaker, I'll be more than happy to agree with you.

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"You said it yourself: Either one views the kick as being first, or one views the touch as being first. The powers that be have already stated how the play is to be viewed. Regardless of the teleology, regardless of my view, your view or anyone else's view, the committee has made it clear how the play must be called. You can't argue your way out of a direct command. Even Camron agrees that we must do it "their" way, and getting philosophical isn't going to change that. If you want to change it, go to the Rules Committee. Arguing it here does no good at all."

Where specifically in the rules does it say that this 'situation' is to be interpreted (that is, resolved) as you suggest? Just tell me where and I will memorize the citation! I am not being purposefully obtuse about this . . .
There are already enough references in this thread to figure this out. Even Camron and me agree this is the official interp, although we disagree with it. You're being obtuse, whether or not it's purposeful.
Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Re: Rainmaker, I'll be more than happy to agree with you.

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"You said it yourself: Either one views the kick as being first, or one views the touch as being first. The powers that be have already stated how the play is to be viewed. Regardless of the teleology, regardless of my view, your view or anyone else's view, the committee has made it clear how the play must be called. You can't argue your way out of a direct command. Even Camron agrees that we must do it "their" way, and getting philosophical isn't going to change that. If you want to change it, go to the Rules Committee. Arguing it here does no good at all."

Where specifically in the rules does it say that this 'situation' is to be interpreted (that is, resolved) as you suggest? Just tell me where and I will memorize the citation! I am not being purposefully obtuse about this . . .
Purposefully or not, you are being obtuse. One of the reasonable conclusions one could make is that a kick constitutes a touch. That is reasonable. You should contact your local representative from the rules committee and pose the same scenario and see how they expect it to be called. This dead horse is beaten beyond recognition.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1