View Single Post
  #96 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 09:42am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow"

No, this is what a kick does:

9-4: Kick . . . Penalty: The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out of bounds spot nearest the violation.

If the ball is dead, the throw-in cannot have ended.

If, on the other hand, you consider the throw-in to have ended first, then we get your result.

If you want to apply both rules simultaneously, you can't, they are not mutually compatible.

Welcome to teleology. Pick the result you want, then insist that the rules be applied in theorder which produces that result.
This troll is getting pretty old by now, maybe it's time to apply your skills to a new thread.

We've already determined that a kick requires, by definition, a touch.

The throw-in ends on a touch. Not just a legal touch. Any touch.

Reply With Quote