
Tue Oct 11, 2005, 09:48am
|
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
|
|
|
Re: The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"The kicking of the ball,BY RULE, ends the throw-in and switches the arrow"
No, this is what a kick does:
9-4: Kick . . . Penalty: The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out of bounds spot nearest the violation.
If the ball is dead, the throw-in cannot have ended.
If, on the other hand, you consider the throw-in to have ended first, then we get your result.
If you want to apply both rules simultaneously, you can't, they are not mutually compatible.
Welcome to teleology. Pick the result you want, then insist that the rules be applied in theorder which produces that result.
|
Welcome to the Wonderful World of Tweety the Penguin.
|