View Single Post
  #105 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 11, 2005, 11:40am
Smitty Smitty is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Re: Rainmaker, I'll be more than happy to agree with you.

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
"You said it yourself: Either one views the kick as being first, or one views the touch as being first. The powers that be have already stated how the play is to be viewed. Regardless of the teleology, regardless of my view, your view or anyone else's view, the committee has made it clear how the play must be called. You can't argue your way out of a direct command. Even Camron agrees that we must do it "their" way, and getting philosophical isn't going to change that. If you want to change it, go to the Rules Committee. Arguing it here does no good at all."

Where specifically in the rules does it say that this 'situation' is to be interpreted (that is, resolved) as you suggest? Just tell me where and I will memorize the citation! I am not being purposefully obtuse about this . . .
Purposefully or not, you are being obtuse. One of the reasonable conclusions one could make is that a kick constitutes a touch. That is reasonable. You should contact your local representative from the rules committee and pose the same scenario and see how they expect it to be called. This dead horse is beaten beyond recognition.
Reply With Quote