The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 05, 2005, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
The official is not correct per FED rules. The official may be correct per NCAA rules, depending on what the technical foul was for.

In HS, the technical foul gives the offended team 2 FTs and the ball at midcourt. Although there is no team control until the FT shooter is holding or dribbling the live ball inbounds, the only time we go to the arrow for the POI is when there is no team control and no goal, infraction nor end of period is involved. Since there was an infraction involved here (the shooting foul), we don't need the arrow. Resume with the two FTs, then continue with the ball to the offended team at midcourt.

(Thanks for the email, assignmentmaker!)

I think it was discussed in another post that the ball would be inbounded at the POI. If the double foul occured someplace other than midcourt wouldn't the ball be inbounded at that spot?

[Edited by ChuckElias on Oct 3rd, 2005 at 05:17 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1