View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2005, 10:16am
Lotto Lotto is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Re: Re: Re: hey chuck?

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Is there a significant difference between "back to the team in control" and "POI" (that applies to this situation)?

What would you do if, during the game, there was a personal foul, and during the FT for that foul, there was a double personal foul?
Using NCAA rules:

Since the game clock has not been started after it was stopped for the first foul, we have a false double foul (4-26.12). The first part of the false double foul is the personal foul that cause the FTs, and the second part of the false double foul is the double personal foul. With me so far?

By rule, when the last foul that is part of a false double foul is a double personal foul, the ball shall be awarded to the team entitled to the AP throw-in. (8-6.2)

So, if the double foul occurs while the shooter still has the ball in her/his hands, blow the whistle, report, clear the lanes, shoot all remaining FTs, and use AP to put the ball in play at the designated spot nearest the double personal foul.

If the double foul occurs while the shot is in the air, the result counts whether the shot is made or missed. Blow the whistle, report, shoot any remaining FTs, and use AP to put the ball in play at the designated spot nearest the double personal foul.

I hadn't reread 8-6.2 when I made my earlier post. Chuck, I think that that rule clears up everything (or at least everything under question in this post!)

Oh, and if we used PoI to put the ball back in play, then in the first case (where the shooter is still holding the ball), after reporting, you'd just give the ball back to the FT shooter and continue from there. There would be no AP throw-in.

[Edited by lotto on Oct 6th, 2005 at 11:18 AM]
Reply With Quote