The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 09:27am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by ranjo
Promised I would get the correct answer to this rules question and what better place to do it then on this forum.

A-1 is driving to the basket and dribbles the ball off a teamates foot - secures the ball with two hands and starts another dribble. I call a violation.

The question is asked - If he lost the ball because he dribbled the ball off an opposing teams players' foot, would it still be a double dribbble if he secured the ball and started another dribble?

Was the first violation called correctly when he lost the ball off a teamates foot?

Your help and comments please.
9-5-3: "A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she lost conrol because of ...a pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player."
[see 9.5.3 Situation; 4-31 Pass]
mick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1