![]() |
Promised I would get the correct answer to this rules question and what better place to do it then on this forum.
A-1 is driving to the basket and dribbles the ball off a teamates foot - secures the ball with two hands and starts another dribble. I call a violation. The question is asked - If he lost the ball because he dribbled the ball off an opposing teams players' foot, would it still be a double dribbble if he secured the ball and started another dribble? Was the first violation called correctly when he lost the ball off a teamates foot? Your help and comments please. |
Quote:
[see 9.5.3 Situation; 4-31 Pass] mick |
I had never thought about this play before this post. I don't believe that this action qualifies as a pass or a fumble, nor does the ball hitting the opponent's foot equal a bat.
I'm having a hard time allowing a second dribble according the the strict reading of the rules. |
Quote:
I see both as passes. (ie. Player bats ball to another player.) Intention is not required. mick |
1. A1 is standing in one spot and dribbling. A2 runs by A1. The ball accidentally strikes the foot of A2 and rolls away, then A1 chases it down, grabs it with two hands and starts to dribble.
Are you considering the action by A1 a pass or the action by A2? |
Quote:
The ball moved from one player to another via a bat. ;) mick |
I'm not calling that a double dribble. Another player touched the ball, whether accidently or intentionally while there was no PC by the previous dribbling.
|
Before this thread I wouldn't have called this a violation either, but now I am hung up on the wording of the rule. It certainly seems like a violation is the by-the-book call.
Do you guys agree with that, but are just saying that it is not a call you want to make? |
Quote:
RULE 4-15.5 - An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the DRIBBLER or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. OK, we have an interrupted dribble. RULE 9-5 A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1...A try for field goal. (Not the case) ART. 2...A bat by an opponent. (Not the case) ART. 3...A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. (Interesting) Still not sure, however, this will help: RULE 4-21 FUMBLE A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's GRASP. In my humble opinion, I believe you made the correct call. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Seems to me to have the same basic characterics as a bat/steal, or a pass. mick |
[/B][/QUOTE]
How so? Seems to me to have the same basic characterics as a bat/steal, or a pass. mick [/B][/QUOTE] RULE 4-15.5 - An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the DRIBBLER or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. |
Quote:
The fact that the ball is loose (no player control) and another player touches it is enough for me. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06pm. |