View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 09:27am
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by ranjo
Promised I would get the correct answer to this rules question and what better place to do it then on this forum.

A-1 is driving to the basket and dribbles the ball off a teamates foot - secures the ball with two hands and starts another dribble. I call a violation.

The question is asked - If he lost the ball because he dribbled the ball off an opposing teams players' foot, would it still be a double dribbble if he secured the ball and started another dribble?

Was the first violation called correctly when he lost the ball off a teamates foot?

Your help and comments please.
9-5-3: "A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she lost conrol because of ...a pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player."
[see 9.5.3 Situation; 4-31 Pass]
mick
Reply With Quote