The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2004, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
NFHS

When can a timeout be called? During a dead ball or when in player/team control, correct?

Situation: A1 has the ball for a throw in on B's endline with 6 seconds left down by 2. A1 throws the ball in to A2 who throws a baseball pass down court toward A3. While the ball is in the air, A's coach is screaming for a timeout which is recognized by the C official.

Should the timeout be granted?

Rule 4.12.1-6

Art 2 states: A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble.

See 5-8-3-a.....team control is irrelevant - player control is. If the coach's request came before or as A2 released the ball, it's a no-brainer - grant it. If the request came clearly after A2 launched the ball, there is, by definition, no longer player control, so you can't grant the TO request until A3 controls the ball down court. Just my $.02......
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1