Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
NFHS
When can a timeout be called? During a dead ball or when in player/team control, correct?
Situation: A1 has the ball for a throw in on B's endline with 6 seconds left down by 2. A1 throws the ball in to A2 who throws a baseball pass down court toward A3. While the ball is in the air, A's coach is screaming for a timeout which is recognized by the C official.
Should the timeout be granted?
Rule 4.12.1-6
Art 2 states: A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble.
|
See 5-8-3-a.....team control is irrelevant - player control is. If the coach's request came before or as A2 released the ball, it's a no-brainer - grant it. If the request came clearly after A2 launched the ball, there is, by definition, no longer player control, so you can't grant the TO request until A3 controls the ball down court. Just my $.02......