View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2004, 03:55pm
thumpferee thumpferee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally posted by David B
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
NFHS

When can a timeout be called? During a dead ball or when in player/team control, correct?

Situation: A1 has the ball for a throw in on B's endline with 6 seconds left down by 2. A1 throws the ball in to A2 who throws a baseball pass down court toward A3. While the ball is in the air, A's coach is screaming for a timeout which is recognized by the C official.

Should the timeout be granted?

Rule 4.12.1-6

Art 2 states: A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble.
It can but I would wait and see who catches the ball on a baseball pass. What if you are calling TO and the defense intercepts the pass>?

Then you have a mess.

Thanks
David
What if A3 catches the ball and is going in for a layup to tie the game, would you grant the timeout then?

The timeout by A's coach would eliminate the WHAT IF'S, which is the point. According to the rule team control still exists during a pass among teammates. I am looking for the rule to substantiate when a timeout can and should be called/granted.

Thanks!
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote