The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by ReadyToRef
The D1 official told us this situation was brought up at a NCAA meeting. Supposedly the officials at the meeting were split on whether or not to call this a backcourt violation.

When I asked him what he would call, he said he would not call it a backcourt violation. He stated that he could not find anything in the NCAA literature to justify a backcourt violation call.
According to 2003 NCAA rules, it is not a violation because A2 is not "in his back court", is that right?

Section 11. Ball in Back Court
Art. 1. A player shall not be the first to touch the ball **in his or her back court**
when the ball came from the front court while the playerÂ’s team was in
team control and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the
back court.

**in his or her back court** refers to the ball, not the player.
Wow. I thought I got it right this time.
I know the feeling.

Quote:
but is it because of me or the wording does seem ambiguous?

What is the intention of the back court violation anyway? to make game tempo faster? this bounce pass does not seem to violate any basketball "spirit" to me.

Thanks.
I agree, the rules sometimes could be worded better.

I can see your argument about how this play might not be exactly within the *spirit* of the rules, but it's still a consequence of the rules.

Maybe these oddball plays happen so rarely it's not worth writing down all the possible exceptions.

Who knows?
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 02:46pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
What is the intention of the back court violation anyway? to make game tempo faster? this bounce pass does not seem to violate any basketball "spirit" to me.

Thanks.
I disagree. The purpose of the 10 second rule is to speed the game up. The purpose of the backcourt rule seems to be to provide a shorter playing court for the offense to work with. In that light, the bounce pass in question does violate the spirit of the rules in that it is an attempt to expand the legal offensive playing court.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
But geez, how many total human beings -- including all players, coaches, refs and fans -- are going to get this right in a game? I'm betting it's less than 100.
Well, here's a situation that I'm proud to say I got right.

A1 is dribbling in her front court. B1 knocks the ball away towards the back court. A1 chases after it, diving, and tries to start a dribble from the floor. The ball's last bounce before A1 touches it is in the front court. Then A1 starts her dribble, the first bounce of the dribble is in the back court. When the ball came back and touched A1's hand---TWEET! Back court violation.

(Note that the "three points" idea discussed earlier doesn't apply, 'cause A1 is not advancing the ball from the back court to the front court while dribbling.)

I was being observered by our board interpreter, and he gave me two pats on the back for that one.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Well, here's a situation that I'm proud to say I got right.

A1 is dribbling in her front court. B1 knocks the ball away towards the back court. A1 chases after it, diving, and tries to start a dribble from the floor. The ball's last bounce before A1 touches it is in the front court. Then A1 starts her dribble, the first bounce of the dribble is in the back court. When the ball came back and touched A1's hand---TWEET! Back court violation.

(Note that the "three points" idea discussed earlier doesn't apply, 'cause A1 is not advancing the ball from the back court to the front court while dribbling.)

I was being observered by our board interpreter, and he gave me two pats on the back for that one. [/B]
when A1 first touched the ball, did the ball break the mid-court line already? Who caused the ball to go to back court? B2 or A1?

If it was B2 and the ball was in back court already before A1 touched it, then A1's action should be legal, right?

Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 04:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
YSONG,
The ball's last bounce before A1 touched it was in the FC, then she gets control in the back court. By rule, the one who causes the ball to go into the BC is the last to touch it in the FC.

__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
YSONG,
The ball's last bounce before A1 touched it was in the FC, then she gets control in the back court. By rule, the one who causes the ball to go into the BC is the last to touch it in the FC.

By rule, the one who causes the ball to go into the BC is the last to touch it before it goes into the backcourt. It doesn't matter where they are when they touch it.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 08:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
This is absolutely true. None of the backcourt rule specifies where the ball can or can not be touched...only when it can't not be touch relative to where the ball has been or is going...last to touch before returning to the backcourt and first to touch after going to the backcourt. Those are the key elements. The first to touch after it went to the backcourt could be anywhere on the floor.

A backcourt violation is akin to being OOB except that it is delayed and only applies if team A is the first to touch it after it goes to the backcourt.
Camron, other than the part about "when it can't not be touch", this is very helpful. But geez, how many total human beings -- including all players, coaches, refs and fans -- are going to get this right in a game? I'm betting it's less than 100. And how could anyone ever explain it!"!?!? It's way too confusing. [/B]
Poor grammer indeed. Let me try again:

The backcourt rule does not specify anything about where the ball can or can not be touched.

The backcourt rule only specifies when it is illegal to touch the ball: Team A can't be the first to touch a ball that is under team control, has been in the front court, returned to the backcourt if they were the last to touch the ball before it returned to the backcourt.

Maybe that's better....maybe not. It's not any easy rule to put into words.
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
This is absolutely true. None of the backcourt rule specifies where the ball can or can not be touched...only when it can't not be touch relative to where the ball has been or is going...last to touch before returning to the backcourt and first to touch after going to the backcourt. Those are the key elements. The first to touch after it went to the backcourt could be anywhere on the floor.

A backcourt violation is akin to being OOB except that it is delayed and only applies if team A is the first to touch it after it goes to the backcourt.
Camron, other than the part about "when it can't not be touch", this is very helpful. But geez, how many total human beings -- including all players, coaches, refs and fans -- are going to get this right in a game? I'm betting it's less than 100. And how could anyone ever explain it!"!?!? It's way too confusing.
Poor grammer indeed. Let me try again:

The backcourt rule does not specify anything about where the ball can or can not be touched.

The backcourt rule only specifies when it is illegal to touch the ball: Team A can't be the first to touch a ball that is under team control, has been in the front court, returned to the backcourt if they were the last to touch the ball before it returned to the backcourt.

Maybe that's better....maybe not. It's not any easy rule to put into words.
[/B]
No, it's not easy!! This attempt is much better. Now that this is clarified for me, I can see what the wording in the book means, but would never have derived that meaning from the book.

And frankly, I can't imagine calling it. The explanation sounds laughable. I guess I'll have to just hope it never happens.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Maybe it's time to once again post the back court violation quiz that shows up here every once in a while. Anyone have it handy?
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust

Maybe that's better....maybe not. It's not any easy rule to put into words.
The "four criteria" always seemed pretty clear to me:

1) Team control by A
2) Ball in front-copurt
3) A last to touch before ball goes to back court
4) A first to touch after ball goes to back court.

(Note that point 4 DOES NOT say "A frist to touch IN back court.")
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
YSONG,
The ball's last bounce before A1 touched it was in the FC, then she gets control in the back court. By rule, the one who causes the ball to go into the BC is the last to touch it in the FC.

After B2 knocks the ball off, there is no player control at that time. so the FC/BC status of the ball is decided by its location, i,e, which floor or air space it is in at that time.

so if the ball is in BC air space already before A1 touches it, then A1 is not the one who causes the ball go to BC. so there is no violation. (assuming A1 has not touched the ball yet after B2's last touch.) Does this rationale make sense?

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
YSONG,
The ball's last bounce before A1 touched it was in the FC, then she gets control in the back court. By rule, the one who causes the ball to go into the BC is the last to touch it in the FC.

After B2 knocks the ball off, there is no player control at that time. so the FC/BC status of the ball is decided by its location, i,e, which floor or air space it is in at that time.

so if the ball is in BC air space already before A1 touches it, then A1 is not the one who causes the ball go to BC. so there is no violation. (assuming A1 has not touched the ball yet after B2's last touch.) Does this rationale make sense?

Thanks.

Coupla things:

- PLAYER control is not relevant, TEAM control is (see Bob's post)

- Where the ball is in the air is irrelevant. Ball & player FC/BC status is defined by where last touched. IOO the ball remain in the FC until it touches the floor in the BC.

Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 10:10am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
YSONG,
The ball's last bounce before A1 touched it was in the FC, then she gets control in the back court. By rule, the one who causes the ball to go into the BC is the last to touch it in the FC.

After B2 knocks the ball off, there is no player control at that time. so the FC/BC status of the ball is decided by its location, i,e, which floor or air space it is in at that time.

so if the ball is in BC air space already before A1 touches it, then A1 is not the one who causes the ball go to BC. so there is no violation. (assuming A1 has not touched the ball yet after B2's last touch.) Does this rationale make sense?

Thanks.

It makes sense, but as worded, it is wrong. It doesn't matter where the ball is in relation to air space. The FC/BC status of the ball is determined by where it last touched the floor or a player. So, if B2 tips the ball toward the backcourt line and A1 taps it before the ball hits the floor in the BC, then A1 is responsible for the ball going into the backcourt (assuming it goes to the BC).

Airspace is only relevant in international relations (unless you own property near an airport.)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
YSONG,
The ball's last bounce before A1 touched it was in the FC, then she gets control in the back court. By rule, the one who causes the ball to go into the BC is the last to touch it in the FC.

After B2 knocks the ball off, there is no player control at that time. so the FC/BC status of the ball is decided by its location, i,e, which floor or air space it is in at that time.

so if the ball is in BC air space already before A1 touches it, then A1 is not the one who causes the ball go to BC. so there is no violation. (assuming A1 has not touched the ball yet after B2's last touch.) Does this rationale make sense?

Thanks.

Coupla things:

- PLAYER control is not relevant, TEAM control is (see Bob's post)

- Where the ball is in the air is irrelevant. Ball & player FC/BC status is defined by where last touched. IOO the ball remain in the FC until it touches the floor in the BC.

Thanks, Dan_ref. You are right. It seems like there is another differece between NCAA rule and NBA rule.

In NCAA,
"A ball that is not in contact with a player or the playing court retains the same status as when it was last in contact with a player or the playing court."

While in NBA,
"The ball is considered in the frontcourt once it has broken the plane of the midcourt line and is not in player control. "

Thanks for clearing this up for me.



Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
WARNING: The following post is specific to this senario. Don't read too much into it.

Frontcourt status for the ball would be reestablished, but it is still a backcourt violation. It does not matter where the ball goes after entering the backcourt. Nor does it matter where the player is standing when he touches it. All that matters is WHO touches the ball first after it has been in the backcourt.
That definition sums it up for me right there...backcourt violation!
__________________
16 yr HS official
8 yr NCAA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1