The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan
Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........
The ball attains front court status when it touches the frontcourt. You don't need a player in the frontcourt to touch the ball.

Look up the definition of front court/back court in rule 4, and the wording of the violation in rule 9.
Thanks for the explanation Lotto. Like I said I am not omniscient, especially when it come to backcourt violations. This is a tricky subject.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker

Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells


Since FC had already been established, and was followed by the ball establishing BC status, it is a violation for anyone on team A to be the first to touch it. Even if the ball rolls all the way to A's basket.
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto

The ball attains front court status when it touches the frontcourt. You don't need a player in the frontcourt to touch the ball.
Okay, so which is it? Can't be both!

Editted to add: Should have finished reading before I posted this. Touching the floor confers status, so Snaq is wrong about the ball rolling to the basket. Right?

[Edited by rainmaker on Jul 28th, 2004 at 11:01 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 10:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 162
fc status

always thought that the ball and both feet must be over the division line before fc status is established, not just the ball...any comments would be welcomed...im reading from the previous posts that if just the ball is dribbled over the d/line and then dribbled back into the bc this constitutes a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Re: fc status

Quote:
Originally posted by cloverdale
always thought that the ball and both feet must be over the division line before fc status is established, not just the ball...any comments would be welcomed...im reading from the previous posts that if just the ball is dribbled over the d/line and then dribbled back into the bc this constitutes a violation?
This is only true for a player dribbling form the back court into the front court. In all other cases, the ball has front court status as soon as it touches something (or someone) who is in the front court.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Re: Re: fc status

Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
This is only true for a player dribbling form the back court into the front court. [/B]
Well, actually it is true for a player(s) advancing the ball from the backcourt to the frontcourt. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 with one foot in backcourt and one foot in frontcourt. A2 is still in backcourt until both feet and ball are in frontcourt. Agreed?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 10:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Juulie,
The play I'm seeing (in my head, an admittedly odd breeding ground for hypotheticals) takes place thusly:

A1 with ball, not dribbling, standing in FC near division line. (FC established)


Throws a bounce pass to A2 so that it bounces in the BC (back court now established) before getting to A2 (standing in the FC and not setting foot in the BC). More specifically, the ball bounces twice; once in the BC and the second time in the FC (not an overly difficult trick). If anyone from A is the first to touch the ball after it bounces in the BC, it is a violation, no matter how far from the Division line the ball gets.

Am I missing something in the rules that says this isn't a violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 12:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Juulie,
The play I'm seeing (in my head, an admittedly odd breeding ground for hypotheticals) takes place thusly:

A1 with ball, not dribbling, standing in FC near division line. (FC established)


Throws a bounce pass to A2 so that it bounces in the BC (back court now established) before getting to A2 (standing in the FC and not setting foot in the BC). More specifically, the ball bounces twice; once in the BC and the second time in the FC (not an overly difficult trick). If anyone from A is the first to touch the ball after it bounces in the BC, it is a violation, no matter how far from the Division line the ball gets.

Am I missing something in the rules that says this isn't a violation?
Well, first of all, I'm really, really confused about the play you've just described. If the ball bounces twice, once in BC and then in FC, did the someone from team A who touched just tap it, and then it bounced in FC? Or what? What's the order of events here?

But secondly, in your original post you said the ball ROLLED from BC to the basket. That's not the same at all as bouncing once in the BC and then flying up over the FC. If the ball bounces, and is proceeding through the air, then it's still a BC ball, no matter how far over the FC it moves. But in the original post you said ROLLED, so I'm thinking that it's touching the floor at least 90% of the time between the division line and the basket.

So you clarify first, and then I will!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 01:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
This is only true for a player dribbling form the back court into the front court.
Well, actually it is true for a player(s) advancing the ball from the backcourt to the frontcourt. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 with one foot in backcourt and one foot in frontcourt. A2 is still in backcourt until both feet and ball are in frontcourt. Agreed? [/B]
Sorry, can't agree. The three points rule (both feet and the ball) ONLY applies to a dribbler. A player who is standing and holding the ball does not get the same treatment.

So in your example above A2 would have backcourt status when he catches the pass and no violation should be called. However, he does not have to touch both feet and the ball in the front court in order to have frontcourt status.
Two examples:
1. A2 from your play, now lifts his foot that was in the backcourt into the air and puts it back down in the same spot.
Ruling: This is a backcourt violation. When A2 is no longer touching the backcourt he attains frontcourt status. Since he is holding the ball, the ball also attains frontcourt status. When A2 puts his foot back down in the backcourt, he attains backcourt status, thus committing a violation.
2. A2 from you play, fumbles the ball and it bounces once on the floor in the frontcourt. Without moving either of his feet he reaches over and grabs the ball.
Ruling: This is a backcourt violation. A2 is not a dribbler since he fumbled the ball. A2 does not have player control during the fumble and a dribble must be conducted with player control. Therefore, the three points rule does not apply here. When the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, it attains frontcourt status with Team A still in control. The fumble only ended player control, not team control. When A2 grabs the ball again, he has backcourt status because he has one foot in the backcourt. This causes a violation.

Of course, if A2 from your play were to start a dribble, then both feet and the ball would have to touch in the frontcourt for backcourt status to be lost.
So going back to my example #1 and contrasting it with A2 dribbling the ball instead of holding the ball, we get: A2 receives a pass from A1 while straddling the division line, he now starts a dribble, he then lifts his foot from the backcourt, while continuing to dribble, and puts it back down in the same location. This is not a violation, since this foot never touched in the frontcourt. A2 is considered to have backcourt status the entire time.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jul 29th, 2004 at 02:52 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 01:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
spelling

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
WARNING: The following post is specific to this senario. Don't read too much into it.
Nevada, I dont want to be pedantic (cynical is OK), but you might like to start passing your time by learning how to spell properly. The word that you intended to use for this thread is "scenario", not "senario".
Here is the proper spelling:

Main Entry- SCENARIO
- pronunciation- "sce-nar-i-o"
- meaning- "an ouline of the plot of a dramatic or literary work".

Happy to be of assistance. [/B]

"For 'tis the sport to have the engineer
Hoist with his own petard: and 't shall go hard
But I will delve one yard below their mines,
And blow them at the moon: O, 'tis most sweet,
When in one line two crafts directly meet."

From Hamlet by W. Shakespeare
[/B][/QUOTE]

JR, thanks for catching that spelling error. But I was using the word in a different meaning.

I was after: a sequence of events especially when imagined; especially : an account or synopsis of a possible course of action or events

And I told you that Dan would start quoting Shakespeare!

Although, since I said Horatio, he purposely picked lines by Hamlet. And check out the etymology of this word from the quote! Dan you old fart!

Main Entry: pe·tard
Pronunciation: p&-'tär(d)
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle French, from peter to break wind, from pet expulsion of intestinal gas, from Latin peditum, from neuter of peditus, past participle of pedere to break wind; akin to Greek bdein to break wind
1 : a case containing an explosive to break down a door or gate or breach a wall
2 : a firework that explodes with a loud report

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jul 29th, 2004 at 03:22 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 06:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Re: Re: Re: fc status

Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan

Well, actually it is true for a player(s) advancing the ball from the backcourt to the frontcourt. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 with one foot in backcourt and one foot in frontcourt. A2 is still in backcourt until both feet and ball are in frontcourt. Agreed?
I agree that A2 is in the back court in this situation, but that has to do with "location of a player" (there's a definition of this in NCAA rule 4-43). The "three point" rule that was brought up (need both feet and ball in front court) has to do with ball status, and applies only to a dribbling player (see NCAA rule 4-28.3c).
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Well, first of all, I'm really, really confused about the play you've just described. If the ball bounces twice, once in BC and then in FC, did the someone from team A who touched just tap it, and then it bounced in FC? Or what? What's the order of events here?

Juulie, they are describing a pass with sidespin applied so that the ball bounces in the backcourt with enough spin that it changes direction toward the front court. Of course, to make it roll all the way back to the basket would take a lot of English.

BTW I notice that in FIBA rules, throwing the ball in the backcourt is itself a violation. That makes the call a little more obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 08:15am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Juulie,
The play I'm seeing (in my head, an admittedly odd breeding ground for hypotheticals) takes place thusly:

A1 with ball, not dribbling, standing in FC near division line. (FC established)


Throws a bounce pass to A2 so that it bounces in the BC (back court now established) before getting to A2 (standing in the FC and not setting foot in the BC). More specifically, the ball bounces twice; once in the BC and the second time in the FC (not an overly difficult trick). If anyone from A is the first to touch the ball after it bounces in the BC, it is a violation, no matter how far from the Division line the ball gets.

Am I missing something in the rules that says this isn't a violation?
Well, first of all, I'm really, really confused about the play you've just described. If the ball bounces twice, once in BC and then in FC, did the someone from team A who touched just tap it, and then it bounced in FC? Or what? What's the order of events here?

But secondly, in your original post you said the ball ROLLED from BC to the basket. That's not the same at all as bouncing once in the BC and then flying up over the FC. If the ball bounces, and is proceeding through the air, then it's still a BC ball, no matter how far over the FC it moves. But in the original post you said ROLLED, so I'm thinking that it's touching the floor at least 90% of the time between the division line and the basket.

So you clarify first, and then I will!
Let me try one more time, in chronological order.

1. Player A, standing in FC not dribbling, throws a bounce pass that bounces in the BC.

2. On the pass, the spin on the ball causes it to change direction and bounce back into the front court.

3. After the ball bounces at least one time in the FC, A2 is the first to touch it.

4. Referee whistles a violation.

It doesn't matter how far the ball moves from the line, or how many times it touches the floor in the FC.

When I said "rolls to the basket," I should have said "bounced." I was thinking "rolls" because after a few bounces, the ball is going to begin rolling. In practice, this will never happen because someone is going to pick it up before it gets to that point.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Juulie,
The play I'm seeing (in my head, an admittedly odd breeding ground for hypotheticals) takes place thusly:

A1 with ball, not dribbling, standing in FC near division line. (FC established)


Throws a bounce pass to A2 so that it bounces in the BC (back court now established) before getting to A2 (standing in the FC and not setting foot in the BC). More specifically, the ball bounces twice; once in the BC and the second time in the FC (not an overly difficult trick). If anyone from A is the first to touch the ball after it bounces in the BC, it is a violation, no matter how far from the Division line the ball gets.

Am I missing something in the rules that says this isn't a violation?
Well, first of all, I'm really, really confused about the play you've just described. If the ball bounces twice, once in BC and then in FC, did the someone from team A who touched just tap it, and then it bounced in FC? Or what? What's the order of events here?

But secondly, in your original post you said the ball ROLLED from BC to the basket. That's not the same at all as bouncing once in the BC and then flying up over the FC. If the ball bounces, and is proceeding through the air, then it's still a BC ball, no matter how far over the FC it moves. But in the original post you said ROLLED, so I'm thinking that it's touching the floor at least 90% of the time between the division line and the basket.

So you clarify first, and then I will!
Let me try one more time, in chronological order.

1. Player A, standing in FC not dribbling, throws a bounce pass that bounces in the BC.

2. On the pass, the spin on the ball causes it to change direction and bounce back into the front court.

3. After the ball bounces at least one time in the FC, A2 is the first to touch it.

4. Referee whistles a violation.

It doesn't matter how far the ball moves from the line, or how many times it touches the floor in the FC.

When I said "rolls to the basket," I should have said "bounced." I was thinking "rolls" because after a few bounces, the ball is going to begin rolling. In practice, this will never happen because someone is going to pick it up before it gets to that point.
Adam, thanks for clarifying. Now I understand your point.

Anyone else -- Is this true?!?! I never got this memo.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 08:44am
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
W O W
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 29, 2004, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Juulie,
The play I'm seeing (in my head, an admittedly odd breeding ground for hypotheticals) takes place thusly:

A1 with ball, not dribbling, standing in FC near division line. (FC established)


Throws a bounce pass to A2 so that it bounces in the BC (back court now established) before getting to A2 (standing in the FC and not setting foot in the BC). More specifically, the ball bounces twice; once in the BC and the second time in the FC (not an overly difficult trick). If anyone from A is the first to touch the ball after it bounces in the BC, it is a violation, no matter how far from the Division line the ball gets.

Am I missing something in the rules that says this isn't a violation?
Well, first of all, I'm really, really confused about the play you've just described. If the ball bounces twice, once in BC and then in FC, did the someone from team A who touched just tap it, and then it bounced in FC? Or what? What's the order of events here?

But secondly, in your original post you said the ball ROLLED from BC to the basket. That's not the same at all as bouncing once in the BC and then flying up over the FC. If the ball bounces, and is proceeding through the air, then it's still a BC ball, no matter how far over the FC it moves. But in the original post you said ROLLED, so I'm thinking that it's touching the floor at least 90% of the time between the division line and the basket.

So you clarify first, and then I will!
Let me try one more time, in chronological order.

1. Player A, standing in FC not dribbling, throws a bounce pass that bounces in the BC.

2. On the pass, the spin on the ball causes it to change direction and bounce back into the front court.

3. After the ball bounces at least one time in the FC, A2 is the first to touch it.

4. Referee whistles a violation.

It doesn't matter how far the ball moves from the line, or how many times it touches the floor in the FC.

When I said "rolls to the basket," I should have said "bounced." I was thinking "rolls" because after a few bounces, the ball is going to begin rolling. In practice, this will never happen because someone is going to pick it up before it gets to that point.
Adam, thanks for clarifying. Now I understand your point.

Anyone else -- Is this true?!?! I never got this memo.
This is absolutely true. None of the backcourt rule specifies where the ball can or can not be touched...only when it can't not be touch relative to where the ball has been or is going...last to touch before returning to the backcourt and first to touch after going to the backcourt. Those are the key elements. The first to touch after it went to the backcourt could be anywhere on the floor.

A backcourt violation is akin to being OOB except that it is delayed and only applies if team A is the first to touch it after it goes to the backcourt.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Jul 29th, 2004 at 11:40 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1