View Single Post
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 30, 2004, 10:10am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
YSONG,
The ball's last bounce before A1 touched it was in the FC, then she gets control in the back court. By rule, the one who causes the ball to go into the BC is the last to touch it in the FC.

After B2 knocks the ball off, there is no player control at that time. so the FC/BC status of the ball is decided by its location, i,e, which floor or air space it is in at that time.

so if the ball is in BC air space already before A1 touches it, then A1 is not the one who causes the ball go to BC. so there is no violation. (assuming A1 has not touched the ball yet after B2's last touch.) Does this rationale make sense?

Thanks.

It makes sense, but as worded, it is wrong. It doesn't matter where the ball is in relation to air space. The FC/BC status of the ball is determined by where it last touched the floor or a player. So, if B2 tips the ball toward the backcourt line and A1 taps it before the ball hits the floor in the BC, then A1 is responsible for the ball going into the backcourt (assuming it goes to the BC).

Airspace is only relevant in international relations (unless you own property near an airport.)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote