The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
WARNING: The following post is specific to this senario. Don't read too much into it.

Frontcourt status for the ball would be reestablished, but it is still a backcourt violation. It does not matter where the ball goes after entering the backcourt. Nor does it matter where the player is standing when he touches it. All that matters is WHO touches the ball first after it has been in the backcourt.
That definition sums it up for me right there...backcourt violation!
__________________
16 yr HS official
8 yr NCAA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 25
I think it would be hard to justify logically within the spirit of the rules using the backcourt to your advantage, even if it weren't specifically stated in the rules. A bounce in the backcourt to get from one offensive frontcourt player to another frontcourt offensive player should be a violation because A caused the ball to go backcourt, and then was the first to touch it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
It took you guys two and a half years to come up with those responses?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 01:08pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
It took you guys two and a half years to come up with those responses?
LOL. Cut 'em some slack. They're both new to the forum. They probably did a couple of searches or found old links at the bottom of other threads. Might not even have realized it was that old. I have to admit, though, that I did wonder how this "new" thread generated 5 pages since this morning.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 12:33am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
It's like "Thread Cemetary" in here tonight. All sorts of dead threads coming back to haunt us.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 07:48am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
\

Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
[/B]
WARNING: The following post is specific to this senario. Don't read too much into it.

[/B][/QUOTE]Nevada, I dont want to be pedantic (cynical is OK), but you might like to start passing your time by learning how to spell properly. The word that you intended to use for this thread is "scenario", not "senario".
Here is the proper spelling:

Main Entry- SCENARIO
- pronunciation- "sce-nar-i-o"
- meaning- "an ouline of the plot of a dramatic or literary work".

Happy to be of assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 09:05am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Re: another variable

Quote:
Originally posted by cloverdale
my first instinct was to call it a violation but would waited to see who touched it first...in this case A2. Now a DIFFERENT situation...we can agree that if A1 is in the FC and passes the ball to A2 who takes the pass in the air from the BC and lands in the FC that this would be a BC violation...now for the twist. What would the call be, on the previous play, if the ball bounced back in the FC before A2 touched it? Would FC status be reestablished?
Since FC had already been established, and was followed by the ball establishing BC status, it is a violation for anyone on team A to be the first to touch it. Even if the ball rolls all the way to A's basket.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: \

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
WARNING: The following post is specific to this senario. Don't read too much into it.

[/B]
Nevada, I dont want to be pedantic (cynical is OK), but you might like to start passing your time by learning how to spell properly. The word that you intended to use for this thread is "scenario", not "senario".
Here is the proper spelling:

Main Entry- SCENARIO
- pronunciation- "sce-nar-i-o"
- meaning- "an ouline of the plot of a dramatic or literary work".

Happy to be of assistance. [/B][/QUOTE]


"For 'tis the sport to have the engineer
Hoist with his own petard: and 't shall go hard
But I will delve one yard below their mines,
And blow them at the moon: O, 'tis most sweet,
When in one line two crafts directly meet."

From Hamlet by W. Shakespeare
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Filling in the chart...

Expanding it to all possible combinations (some should be obvious to all, some may not be):

Player A1 Location Player A2 Location Ball Bounce Location Backcourt violation???
Frontcourt Frontcourt Frontcourt No
Backcourt Yes
Backcourt Frontcourt Yes
Backcourt Yes
Backcourt Frontcourt Frontcourt No
Backcourt No
Backcourt Frontcourt Yes
Backcourt No

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Filling in the chart...

Expanding it to all possible combinations (some should be obvious to all, some may not be):

Player A1 Location Player A2 Location Ball Bounce Location Backcourt violation???
Frontcourt Frontcourt Frontcourt No
Backcourt Yes
Backcourt Frontcourt Yes
Backcourt Yes
Backcourt Frontcourt Frontcourt No
Backcourt No
Backcourt Frontcourt Yes
Backcourt No

Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan
Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........
The ball attains front court status when it touches the frontcourt. You don't need a player in the frontcourt to touch the ball.

Look up the definition of front court/back court in rule 4, and the wording of the violation in rule 9.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Cool



[Edited by ref18 on Jul 28th, 2004 at 09:48 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 08:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan

Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........
You're right, that isn't a backcourt violation, because front court control has not been established.
You don't need player control in the front court. You only need team control plus the ball having front court status.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan

Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........
You're right, that isn't a backcourt violation, because front court control has not been established.
You don't need player control in the front court. You only need team control plus the ball having front court status.
Sorry about that, you are right,

Rule 9(9)2

A player shall not:
While in team control in its backourt, cause the ball to go from backcourt to frountcourt and return to backcourt, withouth the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, and be the first to touch it in the backcourt.

Maybe I should try to read the book before I post
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2004, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan


Camron, great chart. Just trying to understand how it is a BC violation if both players are in the backcourt and the ball bounces in the frontcourt. Isn't it true that front court has not been established yet since the ball has not been touched by any player on team A LOCATED IN THE FRONTCOURT? I profess that I don't know everything.........

The location of the ball that is not being held or dribbled is where ever it last touched the floor or player.


The critera for a backcourt violation are:
1. Team control
2. Ball has had front court status
3. Team A was the last to touch before it returned to the backcourt.
4. Team A is the first to touch the ball after it returned to the backcourt.

So, the ball gains FC status the moment it bounces in the FC. When A2 catches it in the backcourt. He causes it to be in the backcourt. A1 was the last to touch the ball before it returned to the backcourt (even though it briefly had FC status after A1 released the ball). A2 was the first to touch the ball after it returned to the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1