The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 02:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by justacoach
Thanks for the enlightenment. I am always astounded at the deep and complete understanding of the rules nuances espoused by the esteemed members of this board. Could it be some of you are also Talmudic scholars or have benefit of training from Jesuit logicians??
As a matter of fact, justacoach, yes, on the Jesuit part. I went to Georgetown University.

We officials appreciate those coaches who try to understand the finer points of the rules and teach their players to play a better game.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by oref
Mod,
OMQ,

With which outcome do you find a problem?
1 -- probably a PC foul (could be intentional or flagrant) (depends on the meaning of "elbows")

2 & 3 -- probably intentional or flagrant (depends on the meaning of "tackles")

4 -- might be okay depending on the type of attempt A had and whether A1 could be injured now that the ball is back at B's end of the court.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Unhappy

[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by oref
Mod,
OMQ,

With which outcome do you find a problem?
1 -- probably a PC foul (could be intentional or flagrant) (depends on the meaning of "elbows")

As A1 raises ball above head, A1's elbow smacks B1 in the chops. My angle hides this contact, but it must have occured. I see B1 dislodged, fall to ground, then rise bloodied and in tears.
__________________
"The little pleasure of the game Is from afar to view the flight."

- The Hon. Charles Montague.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Unhappy

[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by oref
Mod,
OMQ,

With which outcome do you find a problem?
2 & 3 -- probably intentional or flagrant (depends on the meaning of "tackles")

A2 leaps on the back of B2, A2 wraps arms around B2's arms (stripping ball)and both B2 and A2 fall to the gound.
__________________
"The little pleasure of the game Is from afar to view the flight."

- The Hon. Charles Montague.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by oref
Mod,
OMQ,

With which outcome do you find a problem?
4 -- might be okay depending on the type of attempt A had and whether A1 could be injured now that the ball is back at B's end of the court.
B obtains possession from rebound off backboard. A2 is well beyond the arc and to the side opposite play.
__________________
"The little pleasure of the game Is from afar to view the flight."

- The Hon. Charles Montague.
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 10:04am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If A1 is injured and there is not a fast break for his team. I'm stopping the clock before they run any kind of offense. Not sure why they'd make A run their offense and take a shot before stopping the clock.

As for the tackle, as you describe it. I've at least got an intentional (probably a flagrant), but I'd have to see it.

On second thought. I might be able to justify 15 yards for roughing the dribbler.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
As for the tackle, as you describe it. I've at least got an intentional (probably a flagrant), but I'd have to see it.

Further about the tackle, the same defensive player makes two such moves against the same offesive player within the first 4 minutes of the game.

I'd also be curious about any thoughts on the elbow. That occurred between the two tackles and involved post players.
__________________
"The little pleasure of the game Is from afar to view the flight."

- The Hon. Charles Montague.
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 12, 2004, 02:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by oref

Further about the tackle, the same defensive player makes two such moves against the same offesive player within the first 4 minutes of the game.

I'd also be curious about any thoughts on the elbow. That occurred between the two tackles and involved post players.
If the first one had been called an intentional, the 2nd one may not have happened. If I called the first one an intentional, and he proceeded to do it again, he's done. Flagrant Personal.

As for the elbow, it reads like a pc, but I'd really have to see it to say for sure.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2004, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7

As for the elbow, it reads like a pc, but I'd really have to see it to say for sure. [/B][/QUOTE]

That's the problem. No clear view of the contact. Assume your angle prevents you from actually seeing the elbow contact B1' chops. You see A1 raise the ball to shoot, while B1 is in LGP. Before A1 shoots, you see B1 displaced and fall as shot occurs. B1 then rises bloodied and in tears. A1's shot missed, B1 attempts to block second attempt then leaves court after second attempt succeeds.

M:Goal counts.
__________________
"The little pleasure of the game Is from afar to view the flight."

- The Hon. Charles Montague.
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2004, 01:40pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
You can't call a foul you didn't see. If you don't see the contact, you don't know definitively how B1 got displaced and bloodied. Displacement often comes from a flop. As for the blood, it could have already happened and you didn't see it.
Bottom line, if you can't see the contact, you shouldn't call the foul.

Adam
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1