Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by justacoach
yes,contact. Foul called correctly, with even the correct mechanic, as stipulated in my original post.
How do you penalize this foul??
|
Coach, if a foul was called, then the "swinging the elbows" signal was the wrong signal. That signal is for a violation only, not a foul. The correct signal for a foul would be the hand-behind-the-head player control foul signal. If you deemed the elbow as excessive contact of a violent nature, you could call the contact a flagrant personal foul too, but that one is usually reserved for the cases where the elbow gets up in the head or face of the defender, and you think that it's deliberate.
|
Right on, JR. This is why I was confused by the coach's post. He insisted that the mechanic given was correct (which it wasn't), but then he didn't know what foul, and hence penalty, had been called. He should have been able to tell that by the mechanic given. If the correct mechanic had been given he would have known this info. Hopefully, he will now accept that the official gave the wrong signal and that is why he is now asking us this question.
FWIW I'll add that the foul could also have been called intentional.
When the violation was introduced to NFHS rules in the 2002-03 rules book, there was a comment on page 71 that addressed what the proper call would be if contact was made.
It says in part, "If a player makes contact with an opponent while excessively swinging the arm(s)/elbow(s), the official still has several options: a player control foul, an intentional foul or a flagrant foul. The specific call should be determined by the severity of the act and player intent (based on official's judgment)."
[Edited by Nevadaref on Jul 9th, 2004 at 04:56 AM]