Quote:
Originally posted by Damian
I had this on another post. If there is no contact and the ball is live, you can't call it technical. You can call it flagrant and throw him out.
|
Say what? Have you got a rule citation that will back that up? I certainly can't think of one. Rule 4-19-5(b)- "A technical foul is a noncontact foul by a player". The best example of this would be taunting or trash-talking while the game is going on-----> i.e. an ordinary, plain-old technical foul. Devon, Snaqs et al have got the right ruling.
Also, the definition of fighting in R4-18-1 says "Fighting includes....an attempt to strike, punch or kick an opponent with fists, hands, arms, legs or feet regardless of whether contact is made". No mention of elbows by the NFHS in there. It's a heckuva stretch to try and call an elbow with NO retaliation fighting at any time.