
Sat Jul 10, 2004, 10:04am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
|
|
Re: Re: 9-13-3 (long)
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by justacoach
ART. 3 . . . Action of arm(s) and elbow(s) resulting from total body movements as in pivoting or movement of the ball incidental to feinting with it, releasing it, or moving it to prevent a held ball or loss of control shall not be considered excessive.
I am still in a quandary about Art. 3 above. The circumstances where we drill our players to chin the ball and pivot are involved with defensive rebounding.
If the defense is swarming my rebounder and attacking the ball, my player is going to chin and pivot to prevent a held ball.
What if, in the course of his full body pivot with elbows extended, he should make significant contact with one of the swarming defenders?
Please give me guidelines that you use in this situation.
Are his "total body movements"s with arms and elbows tolerated in light of 10-13-3 and does the defense have a greater duty to avoid contact??
I seem to be running into a majority of officials who have a glancing familiarity with the POE but who never read all the way down to Art. 3
|
Coach, the correct rule is 9-13, not 10-13.
Hopefully this will help; take a look at p's 70&71 in the rulebook- the ones labelled "Rough Play- Guidelines for Teaching and Officiating". Under "C-Post Play", note the language used:
1) "When the offensive player then uses the swim stroke, pushes, pins, elbows, forearms, hold, clears with the body, or just demonstrates rough physical movement, this is a foul on the offensive plasyer and must be called without warning".
2) "The defense can establish a legal, vertical stance or position on the side, front or behind the offensive player"
5) "When a player uses hands, forearms or ELBOWS to prevent an opponent maintaining a LEGAL position, IT IS A FOUL."
Once the defender has established a legal position on the floor, the player with the ball cannot then legally dislodge that defender from his legal position. That includes the player with the ball pivoting into the defender, and making contact with an elbow.
|
Coach -- As long it was pivoting, and involves body movement, it's just a PC foul, if anything. the elbows aren't in the "cylinder of verticality" when they are extended and the ball is chinned. Furthermore, the player is allowed to move the ball around with elbows extended, and the motion will not be considered an "elbows" violation, but contact that displaces the opponent, or hampers normal defensive movements could still be a foul.
|