The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wadda you got? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/14497-wadda-you-got.html)

justacoach Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:44pm

Sitch.....
Both teams in bonus
A1 controls rebound and is called for "Excessive Swinging of Elbows" based on official's mechanic when reporting foul.
How do you penalize this???

Forgive the simplistic question, I'm ....

ref18 Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:49pm

Excessive swinging of the elbows is not a foul. If I called that, I'd give the ball to B at the closest spot out of bounds.

justacoach Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:55pm

It was (corredtly) deemed a foul as the axis of movement was the shoulders, not full body movement.
Conceding it was indeed a foul, what penalty would you invoke??

Mark Padgett Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:14pm

Was there contact with the opponent? This is a determining factor.

ref18 Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:16pm

no contact = no foul

justacoach Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:18pm

yes,contact. Foul called correctly, with even the correct mechanic, as stipulated in my original post.

How do you penalize this foul??

[Edited by justacoach on Jul 9th, 2004 at 12:21 AM]

Snake~eyes Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:33pm

If A1 has the ball its a player control foul. Give B the ball.

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 09, 2004 02:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by justacoach
yes,contact. Foul called correctly, with even the correct mechanic, as stipulated in my original post.

How do you penalize this foul??


Coach, if a foul was called, then the "swinging the elbows" signal was the wrong signal. That signal is for a violation only, not a foul. The correct signal for a foul would be the hand-behind-the-head player control foul signal. If you deemed the elbow as excessive contact of a violent nature, you could call the contact a flagrant personal foul too, but that one is usually reserved for the cases where the elbow gets up in the head or face of the defender, and you think that it's deliberate.

Nevadaref Fri Jul 09, 2004 03:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by justacoach
yes,contact. Foul called correctly, with even the correct mechanic, as stipulated in my original post.

How do you penalize this foul??


Coach, if a foul was called, then the "swinging the elbows" signal was the wrong signal. That signal is for a violation only, not a foul. The correct signal for a foul would be the hand-behind-the-head player control foul signal. If you deemed the elbow as excessive contact of a violent nature, you could call the contact a flagrant personal foul too, but that one is usually reserved for the cases where the elbow gets up in the head or face of the defender, and you think that it's deliberate.

Right on, JR. This is why I was confused by the coach's post. He insisted that the mechanic given was correct (which it wasn't), but then he didn't know what foul, and hence penalty, had been called. He should have been able to tell that by the mechanic given. If the correct mechanic had been given he would have known this info. Hopefully, he will now accept that the official gave the wrong signal and that is why he is now asking us this question.

FWIW I'll add that the foul could also have been called intentional.
When the violation was introduced to NFHS rules in the 2002-03 rules book, there was a comment on page 71 that addressed what the proper call would be if contact was made.

It says in part, "If a player makes contact with an opponent while excessively swinging the arm(s)/elbow(s), the official still has several options: a player control foul, an intentional foul or a flagrant foul. The specific call should be determined by the severity of the act and player intent (based on official's judgment)."


[Edited by Nevadaref on Jul 9th, 2004 at 04:56 AM]

Robmoz Fri Jul 09, 2004 08:56am

no contact=no foul..........

I dont agree with this equation, an elbow can be like a punch and does not have to connect to be a foul (if you were making a blanket equation). Even with no contact you can make an USC call.



[Edited by Robmoz on Jul 9th, 2004 at 11:37 AM]

Adam Fri Jul 09, 2004 09:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by Robmoz
no contact=no foul..........

I dont agree with this equation, an elbow can be like a punch and does not have to connect to be a foul.

You can't call it a pc foul. Your scenario would be a technical foul, which is not included with the equation above.

Damian Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:05am

Actually Snag it would not be a Technical foul
 
I had this on another post. If there is no contact and the ball is live, you can't call it technical. You can call it flagrant and throw him out.

devdog69 Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:23am

Re: Actually Snag it would not be a Technical foul
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
I had this on another post. If there is no contact and the ball is live, you can't call it technical. You can call it flagrant and throw him out.
Actually Damian, you've got this mixed up... If there is contact and the ball is live it can't be technical, it is by definition personal, either common, intentional, or flagrant. However, if there is NO contact then it can be deemed unsportsmanlike, which is technical in nature.

JRutledge Fri Jul 09, 2004 11:13am

Re: Re: Actually Snag it would not be a Technical foul
 
Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Actually Damian, you've got this mixed up... If there is contact and the ball is live it can't be technical, it is by definition personal, either common, intentional, or flagrant. However, if there is NO contact then it can be deemed unsportsmanlike, which is technical in nature.
You cannot call a T for this act anymore.

If there is contact all you can call is a PC Foul, a Flagrant or Intentional Fouls.

If there is no contact, then all you have is a violation. They changed that rule about 2 years ago.

Peace

Adam Fri Jul 09, 2004 11:18am

Re: Re: Re: Actually Snag it would not be a Technical foul
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Actually Damian, you've got this mixed up... If there is contact and the ball is live it can't be technical, it is by definition personal, either common, intentional, or flagrant. However, if there is NO contact then it can be deemed unsportsmanlike, which is technical in nature.
You cannot call a T for this act anymore.

If there is contact all you can call is a PC Foul, a Flagrant or Intentional Fouls.

If there is no contact, then all you have is a violation. They changed that rule about 2 years ago.

Peace

Rut,
They've gone and changed the context here. Damian and Rob are talking about fighting. If the elbow looks like a punch, you could conceivably call a flagrant T (even during a live ball) if it misses. Just as you would a failed punch.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1