The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 11, 2004, 05:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,032
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.

2) If A1 was in the act of shooting withhold the whistle. But remember, if you do not withold the whistle in this play, the ball does not become dead becuase of the technical foul. Continuous motion applies to this play.
MTD,
Perhaps you and some others can shed some light on this situation for me. The case book plays starting with 6.7 deal with continuous motion. I am particulary curious about 6.7.5 part c.
It appears that a whistle blown for a personal or technical foul during the free throwing motion does not cause the ball to become dead (6.7 Sit C pg. 49), but if the whistle is blown inadvertently during this same time period, the ball becomes dead immediately.

Why is this? It seems inconsistent to me. Shouldn't the sounding of the whistle be treated the same in both instances?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1