Thread: NCAA Women's T
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 10, 2004, 08:02am
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,778
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Saw a T in AAU Regional qualifier. R1 called a shooting foul, A1 was at line preparing to shoot. Then R1 T'd B coach...
I'm thinking that in order to really get it right, R1 should have withheld the whistle for the T until A1 shot the first free throw, since she was already preparing to shoot. Now call the T, clear the lane and shoot the 2 T free throws, then put A1 back on the line for her final shot with the players along the lane.

It could be an issue if the coach makes such a disturbance that this disconcerts the free thrower and she misses that first attempt.

I can see your point, but it really is a judgement call. There are two possibilities that I can see:

1) If A1 was still bouncing the ball: Kill the ball immediately.

2) If A1 was in the act of shooting withhold the whistle. But remember, if you do not withold the whistle in this play, the ball does not become dead becuase of the technical foul. Continuous motion applies to this play.
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote