The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2004, 08:55am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
The situation is where a player is chasing a loose ball, tips the ball so it stays in-bounds. The player lands oob, then steps back in bounds and is the first to touch the ball. I hope you-all agree that it's legal.
The player can recover, but how they recover it determines what they can do with it next. If they recover with both hands, they can only pass or shoot since saving the ball is part of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble. The CB addresses it, but I don't have it handy.

Mregor
I disagree. How they recover only matters IF they were dribbling prior to the save. Tipping the ball back towards inbounds is just a tip or a bat of a loose ball, not a dribble. If they had a dribble before the save, then a two hand recovery would end that dribble and would not allow a new dribble.
There is a CB play on this. I agree that a tip or a batted ball is not part of the dribble, but if the player controls the ball and throws it back in bounds, that is considered the start of the dribble. I don't have the CB handy, but its in either rule 4 or 7.

Mregor
Mregor, the play described above says the ball is "tipped," not controlled and thrown in bounds.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1