View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2004, 08:55am
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
The situation is where a player is chasing a loose ball, tips the ball so it stays in-bounds. The player lands oob, then steps back in bounds and is the first to touch the ball. I hope you-all agree that it's legal.
The player can recover, but how they recover it determines what they can do with it next. If they recover with both hands, they can only pass or shoot since saving the ball is part of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble. The CB addresses it, but I don't have it handy.

Mregor
I disagree. How they recover only matters IF they were dribbling prior to the save. Tipping the ball back towards inbounds is just a tip or a bat of a loose ball, not a dribble. If they had a dribble before the save, then a two hand recovery would end that dribble and would not allow a new dribble.
There is a CB play on this. I agree that a tip or a batted ball is not part of the dribble, but if the player controls the ball and throws it back in bounds, that is considered the start of the dribble. I don't have the CB handy, but its in either rule 4 or 7.

Mregor
Mregor, the play described above says the ball is "tipped," not controlled and thrown in bounds.
Reply With Quote