The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 29, 2004, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally posted by Brad
Quote:
Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
What if a player picks up his dribble with one foot on the ground, jumps off that foot, lands on both feet simultaneously?
That's a jump stop. The player can then lift either or both feet to shoot or pass, but if one of the lifted feet then touches the floor again before the ball is released it is a travel.
If you saw my previous uninformed post on the jump stop, please disregard it. A "jump stop" is when a player lands on both feet simultaneously. Whether or not the player can pivot is determined by what his action was when the dribble ended prior to landing. For a good explanation, see the NCAA February, 2004 Men's Basketball Officiating update at: http://www.ncaa.org/champadmin/baske...202update.html

Although this is an NCAA guideline, I think the explanation is clearer than anything else I've seen on the jump stop technique and how the official should determine whether or not a violation has occurred.

[Edited by Jimgolf on Apr 29th, 2004 at 10:06 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1