The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 01:02am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
I said in another thread that I don't have to worry much about offensive BI, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be another instance of a live ball passing through but not counting as a basket. Could it happen?
I can't think of an instance where it could happen with BI. The whistle blows and the ball becomes dead when you call the BI, and that has to occur before the ball goes all the way through.If the ball has gone all the way through, you can no longer call BI, by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
Oops! Think again. Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.
Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?

I'm gonna have to find the case play...
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by Danvrapp
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
Oops! Think again. Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.
Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?

I'm gonna have to find the case play...
No "maybe" about it -- Chuck's quote says, "...live ball..." -- on the end-of-game scenario, the ball wasn't live when it went through the basket.

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 263
Talking Punny

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by TPS2859
.








"A-Rod goes to the Yankees and you sit there and look at that lineup top to bottom," White Sox closer Billy Koch said. " The best way to deal with that lineup is to be a Yankee pitcher."
__________________
Nature bats last!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
I said in another thread that I don't have to worry much about offensive BI, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be another instance of a live ball passing through but not counting as a basket. Could it happen?
I can't think of an instance where it could happen with BI. The whistle blows and the ball becomes dead when you call the BI, and that has to occur before the ball goes all the way through.If the ball has gone all the way through, you can no longer call BI, by rule.
I see. So, if the contact with the ring or net happen late enough that the ball is already through, there's no call, it's not BI. And if the ball is not yet through, the infraction makes the ball dead, so it's not a live ball passing through the net. The whistle may come after the ball is through though, correct? It's really the infraction and not the whistle that makes the ball dead, isn't that right?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
Don't have my case book handy, but there's another situation in Rule 10. If A1 inbounds to A2, who then tosses it in the wrong basket on purpose, the goal is disallowed, and a technical is given to A2. Can anyone verify this? I think it's case book 10.3.something...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by TriggerMN
Don't have my case book handy, but there's another situation in Rule 10. If A1 inbounds to A2, who then tosses it in the wrong basket on purpose, the goal is disallowed, and a technical is given to A2. Can anyone verify this? I think it's case book 10.3.something...
I think you have the case confused -- the case deals with A inbounding when it's B who's supposed to be inbounding. Since time is put back on, I guess I'd say that the ball was dead (even if no one knew it at the time).

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to CYO Butch
Another example

A ball going through following offensive interference is likewise not counted. I'm not sure if this would be because of a violation before the ball went through or because by rule the basket does not count.
__________________
It is hard enough to remember my opinions, without also remembering my reasons for them!
- Friedrich Nietzsche -
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2004, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Re: Another example

Quote:
Originally posted by CYO Butch
A ball going through following offensive interference is likewise not counted.
The BI causes the ball to be dead immediately, so it's not a LIVE ball passing thru the basket.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2004, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 201
[quote]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote:
Oops! Think again. Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?


I'm gonna have to find the case play...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
posted by Bob Jenkins

No "maybe" about it -- Chuck's quote says, "...live ball..." -- on the end-of-game scenario, the ball wasn't live when it went through the basket.


it is a case play..this is C6.7.6 page 50
"Ruling: No goal. The ball rebounding from A2's head is not considered a try or a tap. A try or tap is made with the hand(s). In this situation, since it was not a try or tap, the ball became dead immediately when time expired. (4-50-5)


Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2004, 11:38am
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Cool correct me if I am wrong!

If the horn went off before the ball went through the basket I believe the ball would be dead and the basket would not count. I do not have my rule book to back it up but I think that this is a correct interpetation.
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1