Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
I said in another thread that I don't have to worry much about offensive BI, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be another instance of a live ball passing through but not counting as a basket. Could it happen?
|
I can't think of an instance where it could happen with BI. The whistle blows and the ball becomes dead when you call the BI, and that has to occur before the ball goes all the way through.If the ball has gone all the way through, you can no longer call BI, by rule.
|
I see. So, if the contact with the ring or net happen late enough that the ball is already through, there's no call, it's not BI. And if the ball is not yet through, the infraction makes the ball dead, so it's not a live ball passing through the net. The whistle may come after the ball is through though, correct? It's really the infraction and not the whistle that makes the ball dead, isn't that right?