![]() |
Last Friday night, A1 took a shot from 3 point territory. He shot an airball, and as the ball came down, it hit A2 (who was getting into rebounding position) on the back of the head, then went OOB. A2 was shaken up a little so we called an injury timeout.
My partner came over to me and asked me if the shot would have counted if it had gone in off A2's head. I told him yes - but it would not count for three points, since the shot ended when it hit the kid's head. I said that since A2 had not taken the shot, it was only a two. He smiled and said, "I dunno. It looks like he took quite a shot to me." |
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt. Bouncing of a head is not an attempt?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The 2 exceptions are a player control foul, or a throw -in which is not touched and enters the basket. [Edited by thumpferee on Feb 17th, 2004 at 03:44 PM] |
Thanks for the info.
Can a player bounce the ball to make it go into the hoop??? |
Quote:
BTW, I happened to bump into this in my internet travels. http://www.nynewsday.com/media/thumb...2/11448860.jpg |
Quote:
Technically, there is one other exception, a correctable wrongly awarded free throw. |
Quote:
Only if the ball was bounced from beyond the three point it would only count as 2. See Rule 5.2.1 |
Has anyone seen this happen?
|
Saw one but it didn't count. Kid throws up a half court shot at the buzzer, ball hits the top of the backboard, bounces off back toward half court, hits a light on the ceiling and bounces back toward the basket, hits the floor just past the free throw line, bounces up and in, nothing but net.
|
Quote:
|
How about the ball that goes through the net from below, above the rim and then comes back down through the top? I seem to remember that being disallowed as well.
|
Quote:
A goal is made when a live ball (which this was) enters the basket FROM ABOVE and remains in or passes through. |
Quote:
Violation. Sven |
I said in another thread that I don't have to worry much about offensive BI, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be another instance of a live ball passing through but not counting as a basket. COuld it happen?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14am. |