View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2004, 11:31am
golfdesigner golfdesigner is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 201
[quote]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote:
Oops! Think again. Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?


I'm gonna have to find the case play...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
posted by Bob Jenkins

No "maybe" about it -- Chuck's quote says, "...live ball..." -- on the end-of-game scenario, the ball wasn't live when it went through the basket.


it is a case play..this is C6.7.6 page 50
"Ruling: No goal. The ball rebounding from A2's head is not considered a try or a tap. A try or tap is made with the hand(s). In this situation, since it was not a try or tap, the ball became dead immediately when time expired. (4-50-5)


Reply With Quote