The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 1999, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 55
Post

I believe this to be a backcourt violation. (I think!! ;-) talk about sitting on the fence!!)

The ball has frontcourt status, and A2 has backcourt status. Is it not the same prinicple as inbounds/out of bounds. In the same scenario, if B1 batted the ball toward a boundry line, and A2 ran out of bounds and caught the ball in the air, A2 caused it to be out of bounds. In the backcourt scenario, isn't A2 causing the ball to obtain backcourt status by touching it? If he lets it bounce first, then B1 has caused the ball to go backcourt.
If A2 lets the ball bounce (backcourt or out of bounds) prior to touching, he's OK in both cases.

Similiar situation during a throw-in. A1, from out of bounds makes a throw-in that B1 deflects right back at A1. If A1 touches the ball while still out of bounds, violation on A, ball to B. If he lets it hit the ground first, ball back to Team A.

Hey, I could be wrong. My first inclination was that it was NOT a violation.

DK, very WishyWashy at Work....
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1