![]() |
|
|||
![]()
A1 has both feet and ball over the half court line and his/her next dribble is behind the back and the ball strikes the half court line and A1 continues the dribble. Backcourt? Also can there ever be a backcourt violation during a throw in? Lastly, A1 passes from the backcourt to A2 who has one foot down in frontcourt and catches the pass with second foot in the air and puts it down in the backcourt. Backcourt?
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Hey, I was just looking at the new NCAA rules regarding frontcourt/backcourt. Suppose that on a throw-in A1 throws the ball towards A2 in the frontcourt, who does not catch the ball but deflects it towards the backcourt where A3 recovers it. Under the 2003 rules, this was not a violation, since A didn't have team control until A3 secured the ball. Under the 2004 rules, A has team control during the throw-in, so this would seem to be a violation. I haven't thought this through carefully yet and we haven't had our interpretations meeting, so I could be completely wrong. It wouldn't be the first time... ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
In 2004 NCAA rules, we have team control when the ball is at the disposal of a thrower-in (4-13.2c). Team control continues until a try, an opponent secures the ball, or the ball becomes dead (4-13.3). So, A has team control throughout the play I described. The ball obtains front court status when it touches A2 (4-28.3a). A3 is the first to touch the ball in his or her back court when the ball came from the front court while the playerÂ’s team was in team control and A2 caused the ball to go into the back court, so we have a back court violation by 9-11.1. Quote:
Can you give a rule reference to the exception you're talking about? |
|
|||
Quote:
Make sense? Editorial rewrite with no change in ruling.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Wouldn't it have been simpler to write a note that specifies that fouls committed by the throwing team during a throw-in are to be treated as team control fouls?
Instead, the NCAA, in their infinite wisdom, decides to attempt to rewrite the whole rule book and change something that has been taught to officials for years. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
However, the 2004 rules seem to indicate that there *is* team control throughout the scenario I described. Check out the rule references---A has team control during the throw-in, and you can't lose team control unless there's a try, an opponent gets the ball, or the ball becomes dead. Quote:
|
|
|||
Now I'm confused by Dan's post. Dan, can you please explain a little better why 1&1 is not shot if a foul occurs by the throwing team after they have touched the ball inbounds after a throw-in, but have not controlled it?
|
|
|||
Quote:
In 2003, we did shoot 1&1 in this situation. Because of the definitions of team-control foul and team control, if A1 throws the ball in, A2 touches, then A3 controls, if A4 committed a foul (a) before A2 touches, it was a team-control foul, so no free throws; (b) after A2 touches but before A3 controls, it was not a team-control foul, so shoot 1&1 or 2 if in the bonus; (c) after A3 controls, it was a team-control foul, so no free throws. This is what I called "the silly 1&1 scenario," since IMHO there shouldn't be a difference between (a) and (b). In 2004, team control has been redefined so that, I believe, any foul in the above scenario would be a team-control foul with no free throws. This makes more sense to me. However, I believe that it also causes some backcourt violations that didn't exist in 2003, as I mentioned above. |
|
|||
Quote:
Also, notice that 4-64.5 changes the definition of when a throw-in ends. It used to be on the touch, now it's on player control. (And, while you're looking at 4-64.5,be sure to get the NCAA bulletin on changes to the rules book. There's a wording change here -- but it doesn't affect this discussion.) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I think that they should get rid of part of the first clause in 9-4.4, so that it covers the case where thrower-in A1 is adjacent to a back-court boundary line and A2, without gaining control, is in the front court and causes the ball to go into the back court without gaining control where it is touched by A3. |
|
|||
So what I got out of this discussion was that college now has team control during a throw-in. Just wonderful. I'm guessing that the NFHS will be adding the team control foul soon, and thus will have to change its stance on team control during a throw-in as well.
And without having the new NCAA rules in front of me, it seems that Lotto has found a loophole. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|