Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Now I'm confused by Dan's post. Dan, can you please explain a little better why 1&1 is not shot if a foul occurs by the throwing team after they have touched the ball inbounds after a throw-in, but have not controlled it?
|
NCAA rules throughout:
In 2003, we did shoot 1&1 in this situation. Because of the definitions of team-control foul and team control, if A1 throws the ball in, A2 touches, then A3 controls, if A4 committed a foul
(a) before A2 touches, it was a team-control foul, so no free throws;
(b) after A2 touches but before A3 controls, it was not a team-control foul, so shoot 1&1 or 2 if in the bonus;
(c) after A3 controls, it was a team-control foul, so no free throws.
This is what I called "the silly 1&1 scenario," since IMHO there shouldn't be a difference between (a) and (b).
In 2004, team control has been redefined so that, I believe, any foul in the above scenario would be a team-control foul with no free throws. This makes more sense to me.
However, I believe that it also causes some backcourt violations that didn't exist in 2003, as I mentioned above.
|
You quoted part of the exception above -- the new 9-11.4 See also the similarly worded 9-4.2 and 9-4.3 All of these allow the throw-in to go to the back court while in "Team Control" w/out causing a violation.
Also, notice that 4-64.5 changes the definition of when a throw-in ends. It used to be on the touch, now it's on player control. (And, while you're looking at 4-64.5,be sure to get the NCAA bulletin on changes to the rules book. There's a wording change here -- but it doesn't affect this discussion.)