The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2025, 03:40pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
But you specifically said that IAABO or Connecticut, some of your posting can get convoluted so I don't remember which one, explicitly stated other subs could come in before the disqualified player is replaced.

So far the only thing you have cited is a 2004 interpretation. Did IAABO/Connecticut reissue that interpretation?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2025, 06:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Citation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
But you specifically said that IAABO or Connecticut, some of your posting can get convoluted so I don't remember which one, explicitly stated other subs could come in before the disqualified player is replaced. So far the only thing you have cited is a 2004 interpretation. Did IAABO/Connecticut reissue that interpretation?
... and the Substitution: 3-3-1-C: Note citation.

Substitution: 3-3-1-C: Note: When a player is disqualified or directed to leave the game, both teams may substitute up until it is time to put the ball in play.

IAABO International told us to let them all in on our 2024-25 Refresher Exam.

26) B-1 fouls A-1, committing their fifth personal foul. While waiting for B-1’s replacement, A-6 and A-7 approach the table to enter the game. The official denies their entry, stating that A-6 and A-7 must wait and enter with B-1’s replacement. Was the official correct?

IAABO answer is "No". Reference cited for this question is 3-3-1-C.

I challenged this answer up to the state level and was told the IAABO answer was correct as is, again citing 3-3-1-C.

On the IAABO International level, there was an IAABO representative (who edits our IAABO Refresher Exams questions and answers) on the NFHS 2024-25 rules committee.

My most recent activity was in regard to our Connecticut state interpreter reinforcing the interpretation to let them all in because so many of us Connecticut veterans got this question wrong, including me.

Play #4: In the 4th quarter, A2 is called for their 5th personal foul
and is disqualified from the game. B6 and B7 were already at the
table when the foul was called. After the official beckons A6 in to
replace A2, they tell B6 and B7 they must remain at the table until
after the first free throw. Is the official, correct?
Answer: No, the official is not correct. If a disqualified player
needs to be replaced, this is an opportunity for both teams to
substitute and any player may enter the game.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 16, 2025 at 06:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2025, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
... and the Substitution: 3-3-1-C: Note citation.

Substitution: 3-3-1-C: Note: When a player is disqualified or directed to leave the game, both teams may substitute up until it is time to put the ball in play.

IAABO International told us to let them all in on our 2024-25 Refresher Exam.

26) B-1 fouls A-1, committing their fifth personal foul. While waiting for B-1’s replacement, A-6 and A-7 approach the table to enter the game. The official denies their entry, stating that A-6 and A-7 must wait and enter with B-1’s replacement. Was the official correct?

IAABO answer is "No". Reference cited for this question is 3-3-1-C.

I challenged this answer up to the state level and was told the IAABO answer was correct as is, again citing 3-3-1-C.

On the IAABO International level, there was an IAABO representative (who edits our IAABO Refresher Exams questions and answers) on the NFHS 2024-25 rules committee.

My most recent activity was in regard to our Connecticut state interpreter reinforcing the interpretation to let them all in because so many of us Connecticut veterans got this question wrong, including me.

Play #4: In the 4th quarter, A2 is called for their 5th personal foul
and is disqualified from the game. B6 and B7 were already at the
table when the foul was called. After the official beckons A6 in to
replace A2, they tell B6 and B7 they must remain at the table until
after the first free throw
. Is the official, correct?
Answer: No, the official is not correct. If a disqualified player
needs to be replaced, this is an opportunity for both teams to
substitute and any player may enter the game.
Those facts and the timing of the subs make the two plays not comparable. A referee could wait until after replacement is at the table to let the subs in and would be wrong according to the test question, but right according to the newsletter play #4. No one should get play #4 wrong -- it has never been in doubt. THe test question is the controversial ine.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2025, 09:04am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Not Comparable ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Those facts and the timing of the subs make the two plays not comparable. A referee could wait until after replacement is at the table to let the subs in and would be wrong according to the test question, but right according to the newsletter play #4. No one should get play #4 wrong -- it has never been in doubt. The test question is the controversial one.
"Not comparable": "At the table" versus "approaching the table".

Interesting point.

Could somebody please post a current NFHS rule citation for holding some, or all, other substitutes until the replacement it made.

It doesn't exist now, but I would certainly welcome a casebook play or annual interpretation from NFHS describing substitutions during a replacement period that will not be followed by any free throws.

For now, I'm hanging my hat on this:

Substitution: 3-3-1-C: Note: When a player is disqualified or directed to leave the game, both teams may substitute up until it is time to put the ball in play.

It's says "up until", not "when it's time to put the ball in play".

Since starting this thread I've taken a hundred and eighty degree turn and I'm getting dizzy.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listing Substitutes OCASA Softball 13 Sun Oct 11, 2009 09:18pm
Substitutes Dbyb Basketball 4 Thu Nov 09, 2006 06:44pm
No available substitutes bigwes68 Baseball 4 Sun Jun 04, 2006 01:34am
substitutes oldnewref Basketball 9 Sat Jan 29, 2005 01:48pm
Substitutes Just Curious Basketball 7 Mon Feb 12, 2001 11:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1