![]() |
|
|||
I think I know the answer to this question (I usually don't, though, which is why I ask). The rule cited was as follows below:
Rule 4, Section 9, Article 1F of the rulebook, which reads that a player can be assessed a foul for “attempting to gain an advantage by interfering with the ball after a goal or by failing to immediately pass the ball to the nearest official after a whistle is blown.” My question: Interfering with the ball after a goal clearly requires the player to attempt to gain an advantage (i.e., by slowing the other team down, I presume). Does the 2nd part of that rule also require the player to attempt to gain an advantage (by failing to immediately pass the ball to the nearest official after a whistle is blown?) I don't think it does, but I saw a journalist on Twitter say that because she was not attempting to gain an advantage, a Technical should not have been called, even though Iowa had already been warned for a delay of game. I wish the rule were broken down into two separate sentences to make is crystal clear, but I think the portion coming after the comma is independent of the "advantage attempt" requirement. Are am I wrong? (Wouldn't be the first time....today). |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fight in NCAAW-D3 game | ChuckS | Basketball | 10 | Sat Dec 23, 2017 06:31pm |
NCAAW question | Adam | Basketball | 4 | Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:51pm |
NCAAW game ends with fight | Nevadaref | Basketball | 10 | Tue Mar 10, 2015 03:03pm |
Question from NCAAW Quiz | Nevadaref | Basketball | 20 | Wed Jul 16, 2008 06:04pm |
NCAAW Rules | IREFU2 | Basketball | 16 | Thu May 10, 2007 08:48pm |