The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2022, 01:57pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Intentional Aspect ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Call the first two fouls a double live ball foul and forget about the intentional aspect. Just two free throws for the technical foul (third foul).
Not a big fan of ignoring the intentional aspect (if intentional was so deemed: A2 then elbows B2 in the chest) and the two free throw penalty.

But if we call it a double foul, that dictates no free throws.

What if the second foul was deemed live ball intentional (intentional as deemed by IAABO)?

Does that automatically preclude us from calling it a live ball double foul?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Can half of a double foul be intentional?
Maybe we're talking about a retaliatory (not flagrant), knee-jerk reaction, intentional (generic), pre-meditated elbow a split second after the pile on (all before the whistle)?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Apr 21, 2022 at 03:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2022, 02:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
Double Foul ...

4-19-8: Double fouls: a. A double personal foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal fouls against each other at approximately the same time. b. A double technical foul is a situation in which two opponents commit technical fouls against each other at approximately the same time.

In order for it to be a double foul, both have to be personal or both have to be technical.

Let's assume that both occurred at approximately the same time (both before a whistle), so two personal fouls, a double foul.

But can a double personal foul include one common foul and one intentional foul?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
... a retaliatory (not flagrant), knee-jerk reaction, intentional (generic), pre-meditated elbow a split second after the pile on (all before the whistle)?
... and if so, do we shoot free throws for the intentional, or not shoot free throws?

Does intentional "trump" double? Or does double "trump" intentional?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Apr 22, 2022 at 02:53pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical foul after foul - Good call or not (Video) JRutledge Basketball 3 Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:02pm
NCAA Indirect Technical vs. Bench Technical Foul Smoothieking Basketball 3 Thu Nov 02, 2017 09:52pm
Foul In the Post: One Continuous Action or Technical Foul? APG Basketball 10 Sat Feb 02, 2013 08:24pm
Shots on Intentional foul/Technical foul refd Basketball 16 Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:02am
Common Shooting Foul Followed by a Technical Foul tophat67 Basketball 9 Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1