The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
NCAAW is different from NFHS on this, at least in gmaes with replay.

The official needs to SIGNAL the table that this will be reviewed and that SIGNAL needs to come within the CE time frame. The replay review is then held at the next media TO or immediately at the end of the quarter (whichever comes first).

If the play happens after the media timeout in the 4th quarter, then the review must happen within the CE timeframe
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 01:02pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
NCAAW is different from NFHS on this, at least in gmaes with replay.

The official needs to SIGNAL the table that this will be reviewed and that SIGNAL needs to come within the CE time frame. The replay review is then held at the next media TO or immediately at the end of the quarter (whichever comes first).

If the play happens after the media timeout in the 4th quarter, then the review must happen within the CE timeframe

Bob:

Question per NCAA Women's Rules: If my memory serves me correctly isn't the Replay Review for determining whether or not the FGA was from behind the 3pt Line (i.e. the Shooter was on or behind the 3pt Line)? This was straight up a Ball that was released behind the 3pt Line that went untouched through the Basket. The Officials then went to the Rules Book and the Approved Rulings and determined that it should have been scored as a 3pt FG.

Mark

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Bob:

Question per NCAA Women's Rules: If my memory serves me correctly isn't the Replay Review for determining whether or not the FGA was from behind the 3pt Line (i.e. the Shooter was on or behind the 3pt Line)? This was straight up a Ball that was released behind the 3pt Line that went untouched through the Basket. The Officials then went to the Rules Book and the Approved Rulings and determined that it should have been scored as a 3pt FG.

Mark

MTD, Sr.
I am now confused as to what happened and who "scored it a 2."

Are you saying the official knew the shooter was behind the line and still didn't signal a 3 (or showed two fingers to the table, or similar)?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 01:17pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I am now confused as to what happened and who "scored it a 2."

Are you saying the official knew the shooter was behind the line and still didn't signal a 3 (or showed two fingers to the table, or similar)?

Yes. It was an alley opp pass from "way downtown" that touched nothing but net.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Yes. It was an alley opp pass from "way downtown" that touched nothing but net.

MTD, Sr.
Oh -- so they (incorrectly) ruled that because it was not a try, it couldn't be worth 3 points? And at halftime the looked up the rule, realized they kicked it and changed the scoring?

Yes -- that's a CE and must be corrected in the CE timeframe.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 03:29pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Or maybe no one thought this was a question and did not signal a 3 point basket. I could see that happening, but the officials should signal a three signal once the ball goes into the basket.

Sounds like this is the semantics of the rule. Did the officials make a mistake or did the table not properly award a 3 point shot? I'm not sure that it would have been wrong for the book person to award a 3 point shot.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 04:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,391
Separate Issues ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Sounds like this is the semantics of the rule. Did the officials make a mistake or did the table not properly award a 3 point shot?
There are a few separate issues here.

First, two points or three points for a "pass" from behind the three point arc that goes in? I can't speak for the NCAA, but it's three points in "modern" NFHS rules. If that rule is inadvertently set aside (misapplied) and the officials do not signal the three point "touchdown" signal, then we move onto the second issue.

Failing to signal the three point "touchdown" signal due to an inadvertently set aside (misapplied) rule is a correctable error situation that falls under the usual constraints and time frame restrictions of the correctable error rule.

On the other hand, if the officials did signal the three point "touchdown" signal, and the scorekeeper unilaterally decided, incorrectly due to his unfamiliarity with the rule, to mark two points instead of three points, that's a bookkeeping error that can be corrected up until the officials jurisdiction ends (NFHS).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 05:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,391
Another Fine Mess ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I'm not sure that it would have been wrong for the book person to award a 3 point shot.
I find this situation fascinating. Thanks JRutledge.

Officials inadvertently set aside (misapplied) the rule and don't signal three, but the scorekeeper marks it as three, knowing the proper rule.

Next, within the correctable error time frame, or outside of the correctable error time frame, the opposing coach questions the score, "You didn't signal three but the scorekeeper put up three".

In either situation, on time, or too late, what score goes up on the scoreboard?

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 127
I can't see all of what the college crew did because they went out of frame (specifically: signal vs. no signal by each of the crew members), but this case book play closely resembles the video. [Fortunately for high-school officials: we no longer have to judge pass vs. try].

2.10.1 SITUATION K

A1 jumps and releases a try for goal apparently from behind the three-point line. The try is successful. The covering official does not indicate a three-point try and does not signal three points after the goal. The Team A coach rushes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss a correctable error. It is determined neither official clearly observed A1's location before the player jumped to try.

No change can be made and two points are properly scored. The 60-second time-out remains charged to Team A. (5-8-4)

[Edit]: this case play indicates that when an official does not signal a 3-pt try, the CE window opens.

Last edited by Mike Goodwin; Fri Dec 24, 2021 at 01:28pm. Reason: Refer to correctable-error window opening.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Washington v Utah State video request Nevadaref Basketball 0 Fri Mar 22, 2019 07:46pm
NCAAM: Duke vs Portland State - long sleeve shirt bucky Basketball 6 Fri Nov 24, 2017 06:56pm
Video Request - UNLV/Utah State Fight -- Women's Game WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 1 Mon Jan 09, 2017 03:17pm
10 second count: San Diego State vs Utah Refhoop Basketball 8 Tue Nov 17, 2015 11:20am
Portland vs Golden State Blarge (Video) jeremy341a Basketball 19 Mon Apr 13, 2015 09:25am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1