![]() |
|
|
|||
Awarded Basket ...
7.5.7 SITUATION A: B1 goaltends on airborne shooter A1’s try. A1 fouls B1 in returning to the floor. RULING: Since no free throws result from the player-control foul, B’s throw-in is from anywhere along the end line because of the awarded goal for B1’s goaltending violation. (9-12 Penalty 1)
9-12-Penalty 1: A player must not commit goaltending, as in 4-22 … If the violation is at the opponent’s basket, the opponents are awarded one point if during a free throw, three points if during a three point try and two points in any other case. Agree with Blindolbat that this casebook play has always been very perplexing. I'm not 100% sure, but I believe that the local explanation here in my little corner of Connecticut has always been that while true that a basket can't be "scored" under "normal" player control circumstances, the basket can sometimes be "awarded".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 23, 2021 at 11:41am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA Casebook 7.6-7 | jmkupka | Softball | 1 | Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:18am |
6-4-3 casebook | fullor30 | Basketball | 1 | Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:09pm |
Casebook help | Ch1town | Football | 11 | Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:41am |
Casebook ? | Chess Ref | Softball | 4 | Thu Jun 28, 2007 06:09pm |
NF Casebook 6.5.4 sit | dumbref | Football | 9 | Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:27am |