The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2021, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindolbat View Post
Doing some late night reading last night and came upon this in the book.
Can someone please explain this to me?




My head is thinking, why does the goaltending count on a player control foul? We wouldn't count a regular basket.
And if there's a goaltending, the ball would become dead at that point and any foul after that point would have to be a dead ball technical or flagrant foul. But it clearly says A1 is still an airborne shooter, so we don't have that.

So maybe I just don't know enough about my goaltending rules to know that this basket should count.
The goaltending happened first. So, A gets two (or three) points.

A1 was still airborne -- so it's still a PC foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2021, 12:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,544
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The goaltending happened first. So, A gets two (or three) points. A1 was still airborne -- so it's still a PC foul.
Nice.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2021, 12:15pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,992
The foul doesn't negate the violation that already occurred. The penalty for the violation is an award of 2 points.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Nov 23, 2021 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2021, 12:20pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,544
The Foul Doesn't Negate The Violation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
... the local explanation here in my little corner of Connecticut has always been that while true that a basket can't be "scored" under "normal" player control circumstances, the basket can sometimes be "awarded".
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
The foul doesn't negate the violation. The penalty for the violation is an award of 2 points.
Agree.

Raymond reminded me of the exact wording of our local explanation (probably brought up as a "contested" exam question answer, or when I served on the rules training committee): "The foul doesn't negate the violation".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2021, 12:27pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,544
May Not, At First, Seem To Make Sense ...

Another "may not, at first, seem to make sense" interpretation.

Along the same lines as a "blarge", where with no additional block called, no basket; but the addition of a block changes it from a player control foul to a double foul, and the penalty for a double foul allows for the basket to be scored.

Yet another reason why basketball officials get paid the big bucks.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 23, 2021 at 04:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2021, 12:49pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,544
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Rule 6 - Section 7
Dead Ball
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
Art. 4 . . . A player-control or team-control foul occurs.
Art. 5 . . . An official’s whistle is blown (see exceptions a and b below).
Art. 9 . . . A violation, as in 9-2 through 13, occurs (see exception d below).
Exception: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap for field goal ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.
d. Article 9 as in 9-3-3 or 9-13-1, occurs by an opponent (leave the court for an unauthorized reason, excessively arms).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 23, 2021 at 01:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 24, 2021, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Casebook 7.5.7 sit A.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Rule 6 - Section 7
Dead Ball
Art. 9 . . . A violation, as in 9-2 through 13, occurs (see exception d below).
Exception: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap for field goal ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
d. Article 9 as in 9-3-3, 9-11, 9-12 or 9-13-1, occurs by an opponent.
My suggestion to the rules committee for clearing this all up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Casebook 7.6-7 jmkupka Softball 1 Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:18am
6-4-3 casebook fullor30 Basketball 1 Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:09pm
Casebook help Ch1town Football 11 Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:41am
Casebook ? Chess Ref Softball 4 Thu Jun 28, 2007 06:09pm
NF Casebook 6.5.4 sit dumbref Football 9 Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1